$124.62 - $450.29
In North Dakota, disabled drivers are entitled to permits that allow them to park in permanent or temporary disabled parking spaces. These permits are not automatically issued – you have to apply for them, and renew them periodically.
Summary of North Dakota disabled driver laws
If you are a disabled person in the State of North Dakota, you can apply for a license plate or placard allowing you to use certain parking spaces. These are not automatically issued; you have to apply for them.
Types of disability permits
The North Dakota Department of Transportation offers permits and placards for disabilities that are:
- Non-reversible and permanent
- Reversible and permanent
You can use disability parking lots if you are disabled permanently or temporarily. You are the only person who can use those spots. Other people in your vehicle are not entitled.
If you are a disabled resident of another state, and travelling in the State of North Dakota, you do not have to obtain a plate or placard from the State of North Dakota. Your own state’s plate or placard will suffice, since North Dakota recognizes plates and placards from other states. Also, plates and placards from North Dakota are recognized in other states.
If you are travelling outside of North Dakota on a North Dakota permit, though, you will have to be sure to abide by any local laws and regulations that could be different from those in North Dakota.
To apply for a North Dakota disabled driver permit, you will have to fill out the Application for Mobility-Impaired Parking Permit and submit it either by mail or in person. It must include certification from your doctor or chiropractor, or from a physician’s assistant or Advanced Practice Registered Nurse. If you require a temporary placard, the fee is $3.00. If you are requesting a permanent placard, it is free. A license plate costs $5.00. For a veteran’s plate, you will have to certify that you are totally disabled, and that your disability is due to your military service.
Your disabled placard or plate will expire, and then it will have to be renewed. Permanent plates must be renewed every three years. Temporary placards are good for three months. For permanent and non-reversible disabilities, you will receive a notice by mail to the effect that you are due to renew. All you have to do is complete the form, and return it to the North Dakota DOT. You do not need further verification from your doctor or other medical professional.
Lost or stolen placards and permits
If you lose your placard or permit, or it is stolen, simply request a replacement from the North Dakota DOT. Replacement costs $3.00. The mailing address is:
608 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0700
Make sure to include your placard number if you have it.
As a disabled resident of North Dakota, you are entitled to certain rights and privileges when it comes to parking. These privileges are not automatically given to you, though. You have to apply for them.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING