Disabled Driver Laws and Permits in Tennessee

If you are a disabled driver in the state of Tennessee, you are entitled to park in special spots, and also to park in metered spots without paying and without being subjected to time restrictions.

Types of permits

You can obtain special placards, license plates, and decals if you are a disabled driver in Tennessee.

  • Placards are available for drivers and passengers who have temporary or permanent disabilities.

  • Special license plates are available for drivers who are permanently disabled or hearing impaired.

  • Disabled veterans are also entitled to special licensed plates.

You are the only person who is entitled to use the placard or plate. You do not have to be the driver – it is sufficient that you are a disabled passenger.

Traveling

If you are visiting the state of Tennessee, you do not have to have a special placard or plate if you are disabled. The state of Tennessee will recognize the plate or placard from your home state, and accord you the same rights and privileges as residents of Tennessee.

Applying

In Tennessee, you can apply for your placard or plate in person or by mail. Either way, you have to complete the Application for Disabled Person License Plate, Placard and/or Decal. Then, you must have the form signed and certified by your doctor, a nurse practitioner who is associated with a doctor, or a physician’s assistant. Tennessee differs from many other states in that you can also get certification from a practitioner of Christian Science, provided that he or she has a listing in the Christian Science Journal.

Fees

For a temporary placard, the fee is $10. For a permanent placard, the fee is $21.50, and you will also get a special plate if you have a registered vehicle. License plates alone cost $21.50 as well. Decals identifying you as disabled are free.

Disabled veteran plates

If you are a disabled veteran whose disability is 100% related to your military service, then you can obtain a special plate featuring the words “Disabled Veteran.” If your disability is not totally related to your military service, you can still get a handicapped veteran plate. This type of plate, though, will not allow you to used disabled parking spaces.

Hearing impaired plates

You can obtain a special plate provided that your hearing disability is verified by your doctor.

Renewal

Disability plates and placards will expire, and have to be renewed.

  • A permanent placard is good for two years.
  • A disability plate is good for one year.
  • A temporary placard is good for six months, but can only be renewed once.

Fees

A temporary placard costs $10, and a permanent placard costs $3. You can renew your plate by requesting a decal and paying a fee of $21.50.

Lost, stolen or damaged plates

If you lose your plate, it is stolen, or it is damaged to the point where it is no longer usable, you will have to re-apply and pay a fee of $2 to have it replaced.

As a disabled driver in the state of Tennessee, you are entitled to certain rights and privileges, but you have to apply for them and provide the appropriate paperwork. The state does not know that you are disabled unless you tell them.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Disabled Driver Laws and Permits in Washington
If If you are a person with a disability in Washington State, then you can apply for special permits that will allow you to park in designated spots, and also enjoy other rights and privileges like parking for as long...
Disabled Driver Laws and Permits in Wyoming
If If you live in the State of Wyoming, and you have a disability, then you can get special permits that will allow you to park in special spots and also enjoy other privileges that are not available to you...
How to Buy a Personalized License Plate in Tennessee
A A personalized license plate (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/how-to-find-out-which-license-plates-are-available-in-your-state-by-brady-klopfer) can be a wonderful addition to any vehicle. It can help you express pride in something, share an important sentiment, or simply pay homage to someone you care about. With a personalized Tennessee license...

Related questions

My 06 PT Cruiser will not start and the Check Engine Light is on. It turns but will not start, what does this mean?
Hello - first task is to determine what problem codes are set with the Check Engine Light. It is possible this is a problem with the wireless control module being "locked up". There is a Chrysler technical service bulletin (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/how-to-use-a-technical-service-bulletin-tsb-to-diagnose-and-repair-a-car-by-valerie-johnston)...
Steering lock issue - how easy to fix, does the key have to be reprogrammed? YouTube shows easy fix. Dealer to charge me $1,200
Hello. If it has been confirmed that the steering lock unit has malfunctioned then the proper repair would be to replace it, or have it replaced. If you only wish to disable the steering lock function then there are methods...
When turning left or right clinking noise in the front.
Lift the hood and have someone turn the wheel back and forth while you feel the top of the strut under the hood and listen and feel for the upper strut bearings making noise. They may need to be replaced....

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com