$125.02 - $443.96
Right-of-way laws are in place to help facilitate the movement of traffic through intersections, and minimize accidents. In Nevada, failure to yield right of way is one of the most common causes of accidents, so these rules are founded in cooperation, courtesy and common sense. They are in place for your protection, so learn and observe them.
Summary of Nevada right-of-way laws
In Nevada, the right-of-way laws can be summarized as follows.
If there are no signals or traffic signs, the vehicle on the right should be given the right of way.
Vehicles that are already in the intersection always have the right of way.
If a vehicle is already in the intersection and is going straight, it has the right of way over left-turning vehicles.
When entering from a driveway, secondary road or private road, you must yield to traffic and pedestrians that are already in the roadway.
An emergency vehicle that is using flashing lights and/or sounding a siren has the right of way, regardless of the direction from which it is approaching.
If you are already in an intersection, do not stop. Clear the intersection, and then pull over.
- You must yield the right of way to funeral processions that have their headlights on, and permit them to pass as a unit, even if the light is in your favor.
Pedestrians at intersections and crosswalks have the right of way.
Visually impaired persons who are walking with a guide dog, other service animal, or are carrying a walking stick or white cane have the right of way in all circumstances.
Right of way in a roundabout must be given to vehicles that are already in the traffic circle.
Yield to traffic coming from the left, wait for a gap, and then enter the roundabout.
Common misconceptions about Nevada right-of-way laws
Right of way means the right of one motorist to precede another. Right of way laws also apply to cyclists and pedestrians. If you think that you are entitled to take the right of way under certain conditions, though, you are mistaken. Nevada state law does not give you the right of way – it only states who must give right of way to another. And even if you are legally in the position where right of way should be yielded to you, you may not take it if doing so could cause an accident.
Penalties for failure to yield
The penalties for failing to yield are the same all across the state of Nevada. Failure to yield right of way will result in four demerit points being assessed against your driver’s license. You will also be required to pay a fine of $200, plus surcharges, for a total of $305.
For more information, refer to the Nevada Driver’s Handbook, Chapter 3, page 32, and Chapter 4, page 40.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING