Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1fx2chejs:173:8

Nevada Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Nevada Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Nevada.

Speed limits in Nevada

As of October 2015, Nevada raised its maximum allowable speed limit to 80 mph, though as of March 2016, only limited areas are posted at this speed.

80 mph: rural freeways and interstates

75 mph: US-95 south of US-93 to Nevada Highway 163, and I-15 northeast of Las Vegas to Arizona

70 mph: other freeways and divided and undivided highways, as posted

65 mph: some areas of I-80 and I-580, and US-95 in downtown Las Vegas

25-30 mph: residential districts

15-25 mph: school zones

Nevada code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 484.361 of Nevada vehicle code, “A person shall not drive a vehicle at a rate of speed greater than is reasonable or proper, having due regard for the traffic, surface and width of the highway, the weather and other highway conditions, or at such a speed as to endanger life, limb or property of any person.”

Minimum speed law:

Section 484B.623 states, “A person shall not operate a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Nevada due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following arguments:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Nevada

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $1,000

  • Be sentenced to up to six months of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Penalty for reckless driving in Nevada

There’s no set speed at which violating the speed limit is considered reckless driving. That determination depends upon the circumstances of the violation.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $1,000

  • Be sentenced to up to six months of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Violators may be required to complete a driver improvement course, and/or may be able to reduce points applied to their license by doing so.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Symptoms of a Bad or Failing Flexible Clutch Hose
Common signs include difficulty shifting, low clutch fluid, and feeling no resistance at the clutch pedal.
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...


Related questions

Q: Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...