Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Nevada

car title Nevada

With so many papers, forms, and cards to keep track of it's only natural that we lose items from time to time. If that lost item happens to be your car title then obviously you've got a bigger issue on your hands. This title is needed if you plan to sell your vehicle, transfer ownership, or move to another state. It is legal proof that you are the registered owner of the car.

In the state of Nevada you can apply for a duplicate title if you have lost yours, if it has been stolen, or damaged. This process takes place through the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. It can be done in person or by mail, whichever you prefer. Here are the steps involved.

In person

  • Download, print, and fill out the Application For Duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title (Form VP012). Keep in mind it needs to also be notarized before you submit it.

  • There is a fee of $21, which can be paid by money order or check.

  • Take the package to your local NV DMV for processing.

By mail

  • Follow the same steps from above, being sure to include the fee, and then mail the package to the following address:

Nevada DMV
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711

It should be mentioned that if you are in a rush to get this duplicate title you can expedite the process. Keep in mind this will cost an additional $20. You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Nevada by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...


Related questions

Q: Question about a potential buy (2003 Hyundai Tiburon)

Just by looking at the photos, I notice the mileage is very low for the vehicles age. They say the door handle that is broke in picture is replaced. The clutch has been replaced. The seats look rough in the...

Q: Why is the paint coming off?

This particular concern of yours hits close to home for me, as I am one to love a shiny clean car with nice paint! As a fellow Honda owner, I am quite familiar with the paint deterioration issues Honda has...

Q: Is it possible to install my broken serpentine belt back my car?

Hi, thanks for writing in. I'm a little confused by your question. If you're asking whether it's possible to install a broken serpentine belt on a vehicle and drive 20 miles, I'd say not. If the belt is physically broken,...