Nebraska Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Nebraska.

Speed limits in Nebraska

Nebraska has one of the highest interstate speed limits in the country. As of October 2015, the state is just one of six to post an 80 mph limit.

75 mph: interstate highways and state freeways

65 mph: state expressways

60 mph: other state highways

55 mph: dustless-surfaced highways that aren’t part of the state highway system

50 mph: non-dustless-surfaced highways that aren’t part of the state highway system

25 mph: residential districts

20 mph: business districts

School zone speed limits are as posted.

Nebraska code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 60-6, 185 of Nebraska vehicle code, “No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing.”

Minimum speed law:

Section 60-6, 193 states, “A motor vehicle may not be driven at a speed slow enough to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Nebraska due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Nebraska

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined between $10 and $200

  • Have their license suspended for up to six months

Penalty for reckless driving in Nebraska

There’s no set speed at which violating the speed limit is considered reckless driving. That determination depends upon the circumstances of the violation.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $500

  • Be sentenced to up to 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to six months

Violators may be required to complete a driver improvement course.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Maine Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Maine. Speed limits in Maine 75 mph: I-95 between Old Town and Houlton 70 mph: most of...
Top 10 Scenic Drives in Nebraska
The state of Nebraska is the epitome of America’s Midwest with historical markers and scenery that evokes memories of the Old West. Vast grassy prairies dominate the scene, inspiring a sense of hope and an inquisitiveness about the unknown. There...
Connecticut Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Connecticut. Speed limits in Connecticut 65 mph: rural interstate highways, as posted 65 mph: urban freeways, as...

Related questions

How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...

Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...

Ok so I got into a wreck last week and my head light is smashed and my bumber is pushed against my wheel is it driv

Hi there. I would say that it may be drivable without the bumper functionally. However, depending on your state's vehicle code regulations, it may not be legal to drive without a bumper. I would check your state's laws regarding this...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com