Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-5fxxdajs:173:8

Cell Phones and Texting: Distracted Driving Laws in Nebraska

cell phone nebraska

Nebraska defines distracted driving as driving when the brain is experiencing an increased workload, causing the driver to lose full focus on operating a moving vehicle. When distractions occur, information is processed slower along with reaction times, making crashes more likely to happen. Distracted driving in Nebraska is now among the top three factors in serious injury and fatal vehicle crashes - the other two being speeding and alcohol.

Drivers who have a learner’s permit or an intermediate license are banned from using a cell phone while they are operating a motor vehicle. This ban includes hands free devices. In addition, it is illegal for drivers of all ages and license status to text while driving.

Laws

  • Drivers with a learner’s permit or intermediate license cannot use a cell phone at all
  • Drivers of all ages are banned from texting and driving

There are a few exceptions to the texting law, yet they mostly concern emergency services personnel.

Exceptions

  • A law enforcement officer performing their duty
  • A firefighter, emergency medical technician, or someone driving a motor vehicle in an emergency situation

In the State of Nebraska, a police officer cannot pull you over just for texting. There has to be another violation involved. For example, if you are texting someone, not paying attention to the road, and then run a stop sign, a police officer can pull you over for running a stop sign. If they notice that you were texting while running the stop sign, they can give you a ticket for both texting and running the stop sign.

Fines

  • First offense is $200
  • Second offense is $300
  • Third and subsequent offenses are $500 and three points on your driver’s license

If you have a regular license, you are free to make cell phone calls while operating a vehicle. However, it is important to still use caution and pull over to the side of the road if need be. Remember, while a police officer cannot pull you over just for texting, if you commit another violation while texting, the fines can add up very quickly. It is important to pay close attention to the road, and if you need to turn off your cell phone to do this, then it is a good idea to turn it off and put it away.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...
How to Find the Keyless Code on a Ford Explorer or Mercury Mountaineer
Many Ford Explorers and Mercury Mountaineers were manufactured with an option known as the Ford keyless entry keypad. Some models refer to it as SecuriCode as well. It...
P0121 OBD-II Trouble Code: TPS "A" Circuit Range Performance Problem
P0121 code definition Throttle Pedal Position Sensor/Switch (TPS) A Circuit Range Performance Problem What the P0121 code means P0121 is a generic OBD-II code which indicates that the Engine Control...


Related questions