$124.62 - $450.29
Motorists are required to follow a variety of traffic laws when driving on the roadways in Nebraska. In addition to complying with the road rules, drivers must also ensure that their vehicles meet the windshield requirements set forth by the Nebraska code. Below are the windshield laws in Nebraska that all drivers are required to follow to avoid potential citations and fines.
All vehicles other than motorcycles are required to have windshields.
All vehicles are required to have windshield wipers that are in good working condition and controlled by the driver for removal of snow, rain, sleet and other moisture.
The windshield and all windows must be equipped with safety glazing material or safety glass, which is glass that is specially treated or manufactured to provide considerably less risk of flying glass or shattering if it is struck or broken.
Nebraska also has regulations in place concerning any potential obstructions to the driver’s view of the roadways.
Posters, signs and any other nontransparent material are not permitted in or on the windshield or any other windows.
Only certificates, stickers or papers that are required to be affixed by law are permitted on the windshield and other windows.
Objects cannot be placed or hung in the window in a way that obstructs the driver’s view in any way.
Moveable visors are permitted during daylight hours providing they do not obstruct the driver’s vision.
Nebraska also allows the use of window tint that meets the following regulations:
Non-reflective tint is permitted on the windshield as long as it does not extend below the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Tint applied to the front side windows must allow over 24% light transmittance.
Tint applied to the back side and rear windows must allow over 14% of the light to pass through the film and glass combined.
Reflective tint is permitted that does not exceed 35% reflectiveness.
Red, amber and yellow tint is not permitted on the windshield.
Cracks, chips and defects
Nebraska does not have any laws stating that cracks and chips in the windshield are not permitted. However, any extensive damage or defect, such as shattered glass or multiple intersecting cracks in the windshield that obstructs the driver’s view of the roadway and intersecting roadways may be cause for a traffic stop.
Any driver who operates a vehicle that is not in compliance with the above windshield laws can be subject to fines of $50 for a first offense, $100 for the second offense and $150 for any additional offenses.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING