$125.62 - $449.32
The state of Nevada requires that drivers carry liability insurance, or “financial responsibility,” in order to legally operate a vehicle within the state.
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for Nevada drivers are as follows:
A minimum of $15,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $30,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $10,000 for property damage liability
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $40,000 to cover bodily injury and property damage.
Nevada LIVE system
Nevada uses an electronic monitoring database, called Nevada LIVE, to access and verify drivers’ insurance information. This system will track any changes made to your insurance policy, and will automatically send out notices if your insurance becomes impossible to verify.
If you receive a notice from the Nevada DMV, you have 15 days to respond with proof of insurance, or your vehicle registration can be suspended. You can verify your insurance online through the Nevada DMV website.
Proof of insurance
If you are stopped by a police officer for a traffic violation, or if you are involved in an accident, you must present proof of insurance in the form of an insurance card issued by an authorized insurance provider.
You must also provide proof of insurance in order to legally register a car, or to renew a registration. In order to do this, you will need the Nevada Evidence of Insurance card that is issued by your insurance company.
If your insurance is suspended, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $250 to the Nevada DMV.
There are several other types of penalties that could be issued if you are found guilty of driving without insurance, including:
Reinstatement fees of up to $750
Fines of up to $1,000
Required filing of an SR-22 Proof of Insurance document, which is a verification from your insurance provider that you have coverage, and is usually only required by those drivers who have been convicted of reckless driving or DUIs.
Suspension of driver’s license for a minimum of 30 days
If you are involved in a car accident that results in more than $750 worth of damage, and you are uninsured, your driver’s license and your vehicle registration may be revoked.
Canceling your insurance
If you want to cancel your insurance while your vehicle is in storage or being restored, you must surrender your license plates and cancel your registration before you cancel the insurance policy. You can cancel your registration online.
If you cancel the registration of a vehicle before it was due to be renewed, you will receive a credit towards the registration of another vehicle that is equal to the unused portion of the canceled registration.
For more information, or to renew or cancel registration of a vehicle online, contact the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles through their website.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING