Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in West Virginia

west virginia

It can be very frustrating to lose things, so what happens when that lost item is your car title? Maybe you don't remember losing it, maybe it was stolen. No matter how it managed to disappear, if you no longer have it you will want to look into a duplicate car title. A car title is your proof that you own your vehicle. This makes it possible to sell your vehicle, transfer ownership, and use it as collateral if needed.

In the state of West Virginia a duplicate car title can be issued if you have lost, damaged, destroyed, had it defaced, or stolen. The Division of Motor Vehicles of the West Virginia Department of Transportation takes care of the duplicate titles. The process can be done in person, or by mail. Here's a look at the steps involved.

In person

  • Begin by filling out the Affidavit of a Duplicate Title for a Vehicle or Watercraft (Form DMV-4-TR ). On this form you will need to specify why you need a duplicate title.

  • You must show your registration card and driver's license.

  • There is a fee of $10 for the duplicate title.

  • Take all the information to your nearest WV DMV office.

By mail

  • You will need to fill out that same form, and include a copy of your registration card and driver's license. Be sure to enclose the $10 fee.

  • All of the information can be mailed to your nearest WV DMV office.

You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in West Virginia by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2422 OBD-II Trouble Code: Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2422 P2422 code definition Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP)...
P0291OBD-II Trouble Code: Cylinder 11 Injector Circuit Low
P0291 code definition When your vehicle’s PCM registers the P0291 code, it means that a voltage reading came from the fuel injector circuit – for cylinder number 11’s fuel injector –...


Related questions

Q: Check Engine light on. Would the computer give all error codes in one shot? How do we know the engine's condition?

Hi there. From the description you have provided, I'm am inclined to agree with your assessment of a used engine being installed in your vehicle. An inspection of the engine, by a qualified technician could determine whether the engine is...

Q: Selling Car without Title

I don't believe you can sell the car without the title. You may be able to get assistance from a special power of attorney for the buyer in order to sign the title for you once they receive it. If...

Q: I put in a new starter but car won't turn over

If the starter cranks, this is the same thing as turning over. If the starter is working just fine but the engine will not run, the cause of this is ignition or fuel related. I would recommend having your ignition...