How to Register a Car in South Dakota

One of the most rewarding and stressful situations that a person can go through is moving. If you are planning a move to the South Dakota area, then you need to make sure you take steps to comply with all of their laws. When moving to South Dakota, you will have to make sure that you get your car registered. The only way that you will be able to do this is by going in person to the local DMV. You need to make sure that you get your car registered no longer than 90 days after you move to South Dakota to avoid any problems. Here is what you have to bring with you to ensure that the registration process is successful:

  • The Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
  • Your current title from the state you have moved from
  • The payment for registration fees
  • Proof that you have the car insured with a South Dakota insurance agency
  • If your car is less than seven years old, you will need a Salvage, Recovered Theft and Uniform Damage Disclosure form

If you already a resident of South Dakota and are buying a car from a dealership, you will not have to worry about getting the vehicle registered on your own. Usually, the dealership that you buy from will handle the registration process. You have to get copies of the documents involving the registration so that you can get a license plate for the vehicle.

For South Dakota residents that are buying a vehicle from a private seller, going into the DMV to get it registered is essential. You will need to bring along the following paperwork when getting your vehicle registered:

  • The Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
  • If the vehicle is less than seven years old, then you will need a Salvage, Recovered Theft and Uniform Damage Disclosure form
  • The title of the vehicle with your name on it
  • The payment for the applicable registration fees

The fees that you will have to pay are as follows:

  • Non-commercial vehicles that are below nine years old will cost $75.60 to register
  • Non-commercial vehicles that are older than nine years will cost $50.40 to register
  • Motorcycles that are below nine years old will cost $18 to register
  • Motorcycles that are older than nine years will cost $12.60 to register

The only thing that you need to have before you go and register your car is a valid insurance policy. If you need more information on this process, then be sure to visit the South Dakota DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

The Guide to Right-of-Way Laws in South Dakota
If If vehicles or pedestrians are approaching one another, in the absence of signals or signs that can regulate the flow of traffic, right-of-way laws apply. Since most accidents occur as a result of failure to yield the right of...
What are the Car Pool Rules in South Dakota?
Car Car pool lanes have existed in the United States for a few decades, and have steadily been growing in popularity. There are currently more than 3,000 miles of car pool lanes throughout the country, spanning numerous different states. A...
Insurance Requirements For Car Registration in All States
Car insurance is mandatory when registering a vehicle. Find out what the insurance requirements are in your state or when traveling to another state.

Related questions

Accelerating
If your Check Engine Light is on, you could have a misfire (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/engine-is-misfiring-inspection) caused by a faulty ignition component. It could also be caused by improper timing, if the timing belt (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/timing-belt-replacement) jumped a tooth. It could also be caused...
Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
Serpentine belt tearing apart by pebble & pieces of it getting inside timing belt, motor destroyed
Hi there. I agree with you - this doesn't pass the 'smell test'. The only way for debris to enter the engine is through the throttle body. Since the throttle body inlet is protected and covered by an air intake...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com