How to Get a New York Driver's Permit

The state of New York requires all new drivers under 18 years old to begin driving with a learner’s permit, in order to practice safe driving under supervision before getting their full driver’s license. In order to receive the initial learner’s permit, you must follow certain steps. Here is a simple guide to getting a New York driver’s instruction permit:

Learner’s permit

The learner’s permit in New York may only be issued to a driver who is at least 16 years old, and has passed the written exam.

The learner’s permit requires that drivers be accompanied at all times by a driver who is at least 21 years old, and has a valid driver’s license. With this permit, drivers may not drive at all in the following locations:

  • On any street through a New York City park

  • On any bridge or through any tunnel in the Tri-borough jurisdiction

  • On the Taconic State parkway, the Cross County parkway, the Hutchinson River parkway, or the Saw Mill River parkway in Westchester County

  • In any DMV road test area

This permit must be held for a total of six months before an 18-year-old driver may take a road test to qualify for a full driver’s license.

Required documents

In order to apply for a learner’s permit in New York, a driver must bring the following documents to the DMV when they take their written exam:

  • Proof of date of birth, such as a birth certificate

  • Proof of identity, such as a valid U.S. passport, a state-issued ID card, or a certificate of citizenship

  • Social Security card

  • A completed application

They must also take a vision test, and pay the permit fees, which vary according to the age of the applicant and other specifics:

  • 16 years to 16 and a half years: $80 - $90

  • 16 and a half years to 17 years: $76.75 - $85.75

  • 17 years to 17 and a half years: $92.50 - $102.50

  • 17 and a half years to 18 years: $89.25 – $98.25

  • 18 years to 18 and a half years: $80 - $90

  • 18 and a half years to 21 years: $76.75 - $90

  • Over 21 years: $64.25 - $77.50

A driver does have the option of submitting an eye test report from an optometrist if they prefer not to take the vision test in the New York DMV at the time of their written learner’s permit exam.

Passing the exam

The New York learner’s permit exam has 20 multiple-choice questions, of which 14 must be answered correctly in order to pass. The exam covers all state-specific traffic laws, road signs, and other driver’s safety information. The New York DMV provides a driver’s manual which includes practice questions that can be used to help a student gain the knowledge they need to pass the written exam.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Get an Alaska Driver's Permit
In In order to begin driving on the roads in Alaska, anyone under the age of 16 years old must apply for and receive an Alaska Instruction Permit. This driver’s permit allows those who are at least 14 years old...
How to Prepare for the New York Driver’s Written Test
The The idea of driving is exciting, but you need to make sure you have some things taken care of before you can get your license. Whether you live in the Big Apple, or you live in the Upstate New...
The Guide To Colored Curb Zones in New York
New New York parking laws: understanding the basics If you are a licensed driver in the state of New York, you are likely well aware of the various laws regarding the roads. You know the speed limits and you know...

Related questions

Right wheel shaking when driving
Being unable to drive your vehicle due to a shaky wheel is not a great experience. Unfortunately there could be a variety of reasons that can cause your right wheel to shake when driving. A failed strut, loose suspension components...
I need some answers in order to get my permit. please help
Hello. Let's get these questions answered for you. All vehicles should be serviced per the manufacturers maintenance schedule (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/how-to-maintain-your-car-on-a-schedule-by-brent-minderler). The owners manual contains this schedule that is set up to best maintain the service of any vehicle. There is no...
Failed inspection due to e brake not working please help me identify parking brake and emergency brake?
What aspect of it do you need identified? To start, the parking brake and the emergency brake are the same part. Those are the two of the names given to the additional brake or hand brake as it is also...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com