$125.02 - $443.96
Delaware requires that all drivers under the age of 18 obtain a learner’s permit and attend driver’s education courses before they can begin driving legally. In order to obtain a driver’s permit, there are certain steps that must be followed. Here is a simple guide to getting the right Delaware driver’s permit:
There are two types of learner permits that are available in Delaware: a permit for teens under 18, and a permit for adults 18 years of age or older. Those who are under 16 may drive only with a supervising adult for the first six months of holding their permit; for the remainder of the time they hold a permit, they must only drive during the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. unless driving to or from a church, work, or school function.
A supervising adult in Delaware must be a parent, guardian, or other adult driver who is at least 25 years old and has been in possession of a valid driver’s license for at least five years. This person must be seated in the front passenger seat while you drive. This type of permit must be held for at least one year before taking the road test to apply for a full license.
Those who are 18 years or older must hold a temporary learner’s permit, and be supervised by a driver who is at least 21 years old, for a total of ten days before being allowed to take a road test to graduate to a full driver’s license.
In order to receive any of these permits, Delaware requires that potential drivers submit an application; bring several required legal documents to their appointment; pass a written exam and a vision test; provide proof of completion from a driver’s education program; and pay the required $40 fee.
Delaware learner permit applicants must have a sponsor to sign their application. This person is held liable for the damages resulting in negligent driving on the part of the student driver. This person must be either the parent, legal guardian, or a person approved by the Chief of Driver Services.
When you arrive at the Delaware DMV to take a driver’s permit exam, you must bring the following legal documents:
Two documents that provide proof of address, such as a bank statement or postmarked mail.
Documents that prove name and date of birth.
One document that proves social security number, such as a social security card or a W-2 form.
Passing the exam
The Delaware learner’s permit exam is made up of 30 questions about the state-specific traffic laws, safe driving rules, and road signs. The Delaware Driver Manual covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the exam. In order to get extra practice, there is an online practice exam available. Drivers must answer 24 questions correctly in order to pass the exam.
Once you have passed the permit exam, with a fee of $40 to be paid either with cash, check, or a credit card, you must then pass a vision test.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING