$124.88 - $443.82
While you may know the rules of the road in your own state, that doesn’t mean you will know them in others. While there are many traffic laws that are the same from state to state, there are others that may differ. The following are the rules of the road for Mississippi drivers that may be different from those in your own state.
Permits and licenses
The first step in obtaining a license is to apply for a temporary permit. This is available at the age of 15 and must be held for 1 year.
After completing the requirements and holding the temporary permit, drivers move up to the intermediate license. This license must be held until the driver is 16 years and 6 months old.
Temporary learner’s permits are available to students age 14 who are currently enrolled in a driver education course. These permits are only for operating a driver education vehicle when accompanied by an instructor.
New residents must apply for a Mississippi license within 60 days of establishing residency in the state.
New residents must obtain a Mississippi license plate for all vehicles driven on the roads within 30 days of moving to the state.
Right of way
No driver is permitted to take the right of way if doing so will cause an accident.
While it is not the law, it is considered common courtesy to yield the right of way to funeral processions.
Seat belts and safety seats
All drivers and passengers in the front seat are required to wear seat belts.
Children under four years of age must be in a safety seat appropriate for their height and weight.
Children four to eight years of age must be in a seat belt that is properly fastened.
Mufflers - All vehicles must have tight exhaust systems and a working muffler that prevents excessive smoke and noise.
Signaling - Drivers must signal their intent to turn, change lanes, slow down or stop with either the electric turn signals on the vehicle or the appropriate hand signals at least 100 feet before making the maneuver.
Littering - It is illegal to throw any kind of trash or other litter out of vehicle windows. If littering occurs, the owner of the vehicle and the operator could be subject to fines.
Buses - Drivers are required to stop within 10 feet of a school bus that is loading or unloading children unless they are on the opposite side of a four or more lane road.
Bicycles - Drivers must leave three feet of space when passing bicyclists.
Minimum speeds - When driving on interstates and US roads, drivers must follow the minimum speed limits. These are 40 mph and 30 mph respectively. Maximum posted speeds are only permitted when driving in ideal conditions.
Following - Mississippi requires that drivers leave a minimum of 1 car length for every 10 mph of speed that they are traveling between vehicles.
Parking lights - Drivers are not permitted to drive with only their parking lights on when headlights are needed.
Headlights - Headlights are required when visibility is down to 500 feet.
Parking - When parallel parking on a street, the vehicle must be within 12 inches of the curb.
Accidents - All accidents involving an estimated $500 or more in property damage or that cause injury or death must be reported.
Inspections - All vehicles driven on the roads must undergo an inspection at a site that has been approved by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety each year.
These rules of the road for Mississippi drivers may differ from those in your own state. If you are planning to move to or visit the state, you will need to follow them when driving on the roadways in Mississippi. If you would like more information, please make sure to check the Mississippi Driver’s Manual.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING