How to Transfer a Car Title in Massachusetts

Without a title, there is no proof that you own the vehicle in question. The state of Massachusetts (and all other states in the country) require each vehicle to have a title in the name of the owner. When the car changes hands, the title must be transferred too. While buying or selling are the most common activities, title transfers must also take place when a car is inherited, when it’s donated, or when given as a gift. There are several steps needed to transfer a car title in Massachusetts for both parties in the situation.

Buyers in Massachusetts

For buyers, the title transfer process is pretty simple. However, it does require that you complete the following steps:

  • Make sure that you get a completed title from the seller with all the fields on the back filled in. This should include the seller’s name and address, the car’s mileage, the amount paid, and the date of the sale.
  • Complete the Application for Registration and Title.
  • If there is no title because of the car’s age, you’ll need a bill of sale from the seller, as well as the current registration certificate.
  • Make sure to get a lien release from the seller.
  • Have an inspection performed and get your sticker.
  • Within 10 days of the purchase, bring this information along with the $75 transfer fee and 6.25% sales tax to the RMV office.

Common mistakes

  • Waiting longer than 10 days to apply for a title
  • Not getting a lien release from the seller

Sellers in Massachusetts

Sellers in Massachusetts have several steps that must be completed, as well. These include:

  • Complete the fields on the back of the title accurately.
  • Obtain a lien release or find out from the lienholder how to transfer the title.
  • Remove the license plates. You have seven days to put them on another car, or to turn them in to the RMV.
  • If there is no title on the car, give the buyer a bill of sale that includes all the pertinent information that would be on the title.

Common mistakes

  • Not obtaining a lien release

Inheriting and gifting cars in Massachusetts

Massachusetts allows cars to be gifted or inherited. Gifting to family members (parents, children, siblings, or spouses) means that there is no sales tax due. The process for gifting is the same as described above, except that the recipient will need to complete the Sales Tax Exemption form.

Inheriting a car requires a similar process, although you will need to complete an Affidavit of Surviving Spouse if you are the spouse. You will also need to complete an Affidavit in Support of a Claim for Exemption from Sales or Use Tax for a Motor Vehicle Transferred within a Family, and an Application for Registration and Title. Bring the death certificate with you to the RMV as well.

For more information about how to transfer a car title in Massachusetts, visit the state’s RMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Massachusetts Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Massachusetts. Speed limits in Massachusetts 65 mph: most freeways and interstates outside of central business districts 55 mph:...
How to Transfer a Car Title in South Dakota
In In South Dakota, a car title shows who owns a vehicle. This is a crucial document, and if there is a change in ownership, whether due to buying, selling, gifting or inheriting, the title needs to be updated to...
How to Transfer a Car Title in North Carolina
In In the state of North Carolina, vehicle ownership is shown by the name on the car’s title. When ownership changes, the title needs to be transferred from the previous owner to the new owner. This happens when a vehicle...

Related questions

Recieved the signed title but no bill of sale after purchasing a car

no charge for this answer: If the seller has signed over the vehicle to you, by conveying the ORIGINAL title (that is by signing the title over to you) you should not need additional "proof" of sale. The "conveyed" title...

The car idles up and down. Replaced throttle body temperature sensor, mass airflow sensor, and oxygen sensor.

Hello. If you have taken all those steps and the idle is still not at the correct speed, then the next thing I would look at is the idle air control valve. The idle air control valve is the component...

water not coming to the rediator, can it be a blown casket, peugeot diesel

Hello. If water is not flowing or going into the radiator then it may be possible that there is an issue with the cooling system. If water is not flowing then that may be a sign that the water pump...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com