Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Wyoming

car title wyoming

Are you familiar with what a car title is? It is the proof that you are the owner of your vehicle. So why is this so important? Well if you have any plans of selling your car in the future, transferring ownership, or even using it as collateral, then you are going to need to show that car title. So what happens if your car title has gone missing, or perhaps stolen? While this may seem quite stressful the good news is that you can obtain a duplicate car title with relative ease.

In the state of Wyoming motorists can obtain this duplicate title through the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT). Those who have had their title destroyed, lost, stolen, or destroyed can obtain a duplicate. You can apply in person or by mail.

Here are the steps involved in the process:

In person

  • Visit your nearest WY DOT office and be sure it deals with titling.

  • You will need to fill out the Duplicate Certificate of Title Application & Affidavit (Form 202-022). This form will need to be signed by all the owners of the vehicle, and notarized.

  • You will need to have your vehicle model, make, year, and VIN as well as your registration certificate with you. Photo ID will also be required.

  • There is a fee of $15 for the duplicate title.

By mail

  • Follow the same steps from above by filling out the form and having it signed, and notarized. Be sure to include copies of the information requested.

  • Enclose the payment of $15.

  • Send the information to your local WY county clerk. The state of Wyoming deals with duplicate titles on a county-by-county basis rather than state-wide.

You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Wyoming by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles helpful website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222...
Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...


Related questions

Q: Recommendation of Jeep Compass

The Jeep Compass is a great vehicle when maintained properly as is the case with any vehicle. Some of the earlier year models (2007-2011) had a few more issues than the later models. One of the most notable issues was...

Q: Selling Car without Title

I don't believe you can sell the car without the title. You may be able to get assistance from a special power of attorney for the buyer in order to sign the title for you once they receive it. If...

Q: Car title delays

I don't believe you can sell the car without the title. You may be able to get assistance from a special power of attorney for the buyer in order to sign the title for you once they receive it. If...