Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Utah

car title Utah

There are plenty of items we have to keep track of when it comes to documents and papers. It’s only natural that sometimes items go missing, or can even be stolen. If that missing item happens to be your car title, then you will want to act on this immediately. Your car title is what proves you are the legal owner of your vehicle, which you’ll need if you plan to sell it, or transfer ownership.

For those living in the state of Utah who has lost their title, had their title stolen, destroyed, or damaged you can apply for a duplicate car title through the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Here we'll outline the steps you'll need to take. The process can either be done in person or by mail, whichever is more convenient.

In person

  • If you opt to apply in person for your duplicate title this can be done at a Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office. Be sure to call ahead and ask if that office deals with titles.

  • Fill out the Application For Utah Duplicate Title (Form TC-123). Keep in mind that all owners of the vehicle must sign the application.

  • There is a $6 fee for the duplicate title.

By mail

  • To apply by mail simply fill out Form TC-123, enclose the $6 fee in the application, and mail it to:

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles
Mail and Correspondence
P.O. Box 30412
Salt Lake City, UT 84130

Titles typically arrive within one week. You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Utah by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...


Related questions

Q: Would you advise purchasing this vehicle used? What have you seen as the major (most expensive) repairs?

Hi there, thanks for writing in. While it's hard to recommend which car to buy without inspecting it, what I can recommend is that you have a pre-purchase inspection performed on the exact vehicle that you are looking to purchase,...

Q: Where do I find my vehicle identification number (VIN)?

Your vehicle identification number (VIN) is unique to your vehicle, and is used as a legal identifier of your car. The VIN is located on the drive side of the windshield, where the windshield meets the dash. It is easily...

Q: 1998 Nissan Cube (Japan) drive belt part number

The Nissan Cube was not sold in America until 2009. This model was a third generation compared to Japan's 1998 version which was the first generation. You may have to call the dealer or a local parts store to see...