Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Louisiana

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Louisiana

car title louisiana

Likely your car title isn't something you think about or are concerned about on a day to day basis that is until it becomes lost or stolen. Suddenly this small piece of paper becomes quite important. Your car title is your proof that you own the car. It means you have paid for it and you are the registered owner. Not only that but if you have plans on selling your car you will need to have the title to do so. It is always recommended that you keep your car title somewhere safe and secure and not in your vehicle. Even with taking the proper measures things can still happen.

If you live in the state of Louisiana and have lost your title, or had it stolen there are steps you can take in order to have a duplicate title made. This can be done through the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). Keep in mind that this process must be done in person. Here are the steps you will need to take.

  • First fill out the Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799.

  • Include a copy of your Louisiana registration certificate.

  • Be sure to have the appropriate fees with you, which are $68.50 as well as an $8 handling charge.

As far as who can request a duplicate title, here's a list of eligible parties:

  • A bankruptcy trustee
  • The vehicle's last registered owner
  • The lienholder (it must be on record)
  • A curator for the last registered owner
  • A power of attorney for the last registered owner
  • A corporation or representative that has interest in the vehicle

You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Louisiana by visiting Louisiana's Office of Motor Vehicles.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance...

Related questions

Q: How do I break in my new car?

If you purchased your car new, there are a few driving strategies that you should employ to help break your car in: For the first 200 miles of driving, you should try to avoid hard stops. For...

Q: Selling Car without Title

I don't believe you can sell the car without the title. You may be able to get assistance from a special power of attorney for the buyer in order to sign the title for you once they receive it. If...

Q: What is the cost to replace the tensioner pulley, idler pulley, and the drive belt?

Billing question sent to CS for the cost to replace the tensioner, pulleys, and the drive belts.