Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Arkansas

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Arkansas

Car Title Arkansas

Your car title does more than just prove that you are the legal owner. It allows you to sell your car when the time comes, or trade it in for a new vehicle. It will also be required if you move out of Arkansas and need to register your car in a new state. It’s a very important document, but it’s all too easy to lose it, or for it to even be stolen. Titles can also be damaged and if they’re made illegible, they won’t be legal. Thankfully, you can work with the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration to get a duplicate of your lost, stolen, or damaged car title.

The state of Arkansas lets you apply for a duplicate title by visiting a revenue office in person. You’ll also need to make sure you bring several things with you.

To apply in person:

  • To apply for a duplicate title in person, you will need to complete Form 10-381 (Vehicle Registration Application).
  • The form needs to be signed by the last person to have their name on the title.
  • If more than one person was named, and the names were joined by “and”, then both signatures need to be on the form.
  • If the names were joined by “or”, then either party can sign the form.
  • You’ll need to bring identifying information on the vehicle, such as the VIN or license plate number.
  • You’ll need to pay $10 for a duplicate/replacement title.
  • You should receive your new title in the mail within three weeks.

To apply for a duplicate car title for out of state residents:

  • Complete Form 10-381.
  • Include the out of state address for mailing your duplicate title.
  • Provide a copy of your current registration.
  • Include the $10 fee.
  • Mail the information to the following address:

Department of Finance and Administration
Special License Unit
PO Box 1272
Little Rock, AR 72201

Note If there is a lienholder on the vehicle, they must be notified and will have to completed Form 10-315 (Permission to Issue a Replacement Title). The new title will not be mailed to you in this instance, but to the lienholder.

For more information, see the Arkansas DFA website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance...
P2422 OBD-II Trouble Code: Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2422 P2422 code definition Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP)...

Related questions

Q: Is a 14' to 15' Altima 3.5 SL worth buying?

With the proper care and maintenance, many of the vehicles today meet and exceed mileage old car makers could only dream of. The key is the proper maintenance and not to abuse the vehicles drivetrain. Consider having a pre-purchase inspection...

Q: Should I trade in my car or find someone who will buy it as a "junk" car?

Hi! It wouldn't be impossible to still try and sell the car. Some people like cars that are a little different from the mainstream. You have one of those cars. I'm thinking you may be able to sell it to...

Q: Selling Car without Title

I don't believe you can sell the car without the title. You may be able to get assistance from a special power of attorney for the buyer in order to sign the title for you once they receive it. If...