Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Ohio

Ohio Registration Renewal

There are a number of things that the citizens of Ohio will have to do to keep in compliance with its laws. When first moving to this state, you will have to make sure that you register your car with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). After you do this, you will have to renew this every year in order to avoid being fined. Luckily, you will not have to keep up with this on your own due to the fact that Ohio will send out a notice to remind you. Once you have received this notice, here is what you will need to do:

Going online to renew

There is a definite advantage to going online to renew your registration. If you are looking to make your payment for renewal online, you will need to go to the Ohio online renewal page. Once you are there, you will need to enter in the following information:

  • The last four number of your Social Security number
  • Your license plate number
  • Payment for the fees that you owe

Calling into renew your registration

The next method that you will be able to take advantage of when trying to renew your registration is calling in. Here is what you will need to do in order to renew your registration by phone:

  • Call 866-868-0006
  • Put in your Social Security number
  • Enter in a credit or debit card number to pay the fees you owe

Renew in person

If you want to renew the registration in person, you will need to go to the Deputy Registrar’s office. Here is what you will have to bring with you:

  • The renewal notice that you have received in the mail
  • Proof that you have insurance
  • The title to the vehicle
  • A Registration Information and Authorization to Register form
  • Payment for the fees that are owed

Fees for registration renewal in Ohio

Here are the fees that you will have to pay to renew your registration in Ohio:

  • A passenger vehicle is $34.50
  • A motorcycle is $28.50
  • Light trucks are $49.50

The emissions inspections

The following counties will require you to get an emissions test performed before you are able to renew your registration:

  • Cuyahoga
  • Geauga
  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Medina
  • Portage
  • Summit

If you need more information on this process, be sure to visit the Ohio DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...
P2422 OBD-II Trouble Code: Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2422 P2422 code definition Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed Related Trouble Codes: P2441: EVAP Vent Valve Stuck Open EVAP trouble...


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...