Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in North Carolina

registration North Carolina

The landscape and atmosphere of North Carolina is what has made it one of the most popular states in the country. If you are in the process of moving to this great state, then be sure to take your time and cover all of your bases. An important task that has to be done in order to drive legally on North Carolina roadways is registering your vehicle. In order to do this, you will have to go in person to the North Carolina DMV. You have 30 days from the time that you move to North Carolina to register your vehicle. If you wait any longer, then you may have to pay a steep fine. When going in to get your car registered, here is what you will need to bring with you:

  • Your driver’s license
  • An insurance card for the vehicle in question
  • The title of the vehicle that has been notarized
  • A completed Title Application

For North Carolina residents who have recently purchased a car, getting it registered in a timely manner is important. Before going in to get this done, here are a couple of the things that you will need to get your hands on:

  • A valid North Carolina issued driver’s license
  • An acceptable form of auto insurance proof
  • A notarized vehicle title
  • Lien paperwork if you are still paying on the vehicle
  • The Title Application
  • The Declaration of Eligible Risk
  • Damage Disclosure Statement
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Bill of sale

The fees that you will have to pay during this process are as follows:

  • The Certificate of Title will cost $52
  • An instant title will cost $98
  • The Regional Transportation Authority tax is $5
  • The plate transfer will be $20
  • The highway use tax is 3%

You will have to get valid insurance and insurance cards for the vehicle in question before being able to get it registered. Be sure to visit the North Carolina DMV website to get more information on this process.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How to Buy Fuel Treatments
Adding a fuel additive to your gas tank when you fill up is one way to clean vital engine parts of deposits, improve the performance of your engine,...
What are the Car Pool Rules in Hawaii?
Hawaii is widely regarded as a land of vacation and relaxation, and as such, its scenic roads and routes are far better known than the state’s freeways. But, as with all...
P0477 OBD-II Trouble Code: Exhaust Pressure Control Valve Low
P0477 code means that the PCM has detected an abnormally low voltage reading often due to the exhaust back pressure control valve circuit.


Related questions

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.