$124.88 - $443.82
Utah Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics
When you are on the roads in Utah, you know how important it is to obey all the rules of the road. They are there for your safety and to ensure that traffic can flow unhindered. However, you need to make sure you are paying just as much attention to the laws when you are parking. There are a number of locations where you are not allowed to park. If you break the law, it means you will probably be facing a fine. In some cases, the authorities may even have your vehicle towed away. Learn the following regulations to make sure you are not breaking the rules when you park.
Parking laws to remember
Drivers are not allowed to park on sidewalks, in an intersection, or in a crosswalk. They have to be at least 20 feet away from a crosswalk when parking. They also need to be at least 15 feet away from fire hydrants. It is illegal to park in front of a public driveway or a private driveway. Drivers have to park at least 30 feet away from flashing beacons, stop signs, yield signs, and traffic signals. They also need to park at least 30 feet away from areas posted for pedestrian use.
You cannot park within 20 feet of a fire station’s driveway entrance when parking on the same side of the road. If there are signs posted and you are parking on the opposite side of the road, you will need to be at least 75 feet away from the entrance. It is illegal to park alongside or opposite any street excavation. The same is true of other obstructions in or near the road if you are parking in the location that could block traffic.
Double parking, or parking on the roadway side of a vehicle that is already parked, is illegal as well. It is also illegal to park on any bridge or elevated highway structure. You cannot park in tunnels either. You are not permitted to park on the shoulder of the interstate highways either. The only time you can park in those areas is if your vehicle breaks down, or if you have some type of physical distress.
Red painted curbs and red zones are also off limits when it comes to parking. In addition, never park in handicapped parking spaces unless you have the placards and plates that allow it.
Keep in mind that some of the ordinances can actually vary between some towns and cities, though they will generally be very similar. It is important to know the rules in your town or city and to follow them when they are not in line with the state laws. In addition to some of the rules being slightly different, the fines may be different for the same infraction in two different towns. To reduce your risk of getting a ticket or getting your vehicle towed, keep in the watch for signs that let you know where and when you can park.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING