$125.62 - $449.32
Michigan parking laws: understanding the basics
Drivers in the state of Michigan need to know the laws related to parking. Namely, they need to know where they are not allowed to park. This will help to prevent them from getting parking tickets or getting their vehicle towed.
Something to be aware of is that some communities in Michigan will pass parking ordinance laws for their towns and cities that may be stricter than those imposed by the state. It is important to understand the state regulations, but you will also want to make sure you check any local laws when it comes to parking.
Basic regulations for parking in Michigan
There are a number of places in Michigan where you are not allowed to park. If you get a ticket for parking, you are responsible for paying it. The amount of the fines can vary based on the community as well. Let’s look at some of the areas where you are not allowed to park.
Michigan drivers should never park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant. They should not park within 500 feet of a crash or a fire either. If you are parking on the same side of the street as a driveway to a fire station, you need to be at least 20 feet away from the entrance. If you are parking on the same side of the street, or if the entrance is marked, you need to be at least 75 feet away from it.
You cannot park within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing, and you cannot park in front of an emergency exit, fire escape, alley, or driveway. Do not park next to a road that would cause your vehicle to block the view of drivers who are turning at an intersection.
You should always be 12 inches or closer to the curb. In addition, you should make sure that you are not parking against the flow of traffic. Do not park within 30 feet of a flashing beacon, yield sign, traffic light, or stop sign.
When you are outside of a city or town, do not park in the lane of a highway if there is a highway shoulder that you can get onto instead. You cannot park on a bridge or under a bridge. Of course, the exception to this rules is those bridges that actually have parking spaces and meters on them.
Never park in the designated bike lane, within 20 feet of a marked crosswalk, or 15 feet of an intersection if there is not a crosswalk present. Double parking is also against the law. This is when you park on the road side of a vehicle that is already parked or stopped along the side of the road or at the curb. You cannot park in an area that would obstruct access to a mailbox either.
Make sure that you do not park in a handicapped parking space either, unless you have the special plates and placards that indicate you have permission to do so.
By watching for signs and markings on the side of the road, you can often determine whether it is or is not legal to park in the location. This will help to reduce your risk of getting a ticket.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING