Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

North Carolina Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

North Carolina Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of North Carolina.

Speed limits in North Carolina

70 mph: some rural freeways and interstates

65 mph: four-lane, freeway-grade highways

60 mph: some urban freeways and interstates, as well as some expressways and boulevards

55 mph: highways outside municipal corporate limits

35 mph: highways inside municipal corporate limits

35 mph: residential and urban districts

School zone speed limits vary among municipalities, and are as posted.

North Carolina code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 20-141 of NC vehicle code, “No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway or in a public vehicular area at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing.”

Minimum speed law:

Section 20-146 states:

“No person shall operate a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

And:

“A person driving at less than the legal maximum speed limit shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for thru traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the highway.”

Minimum speed limits apply only where signs are posted. The minimums don’t apply to vehicles towing other vehicles.

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

North Carolina has an absolute speed limit law. This means that a driver cannot argue a speeding ticket on the basis that they were traveling safely despite exceeding the speed limit. A driver may, however, choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could have made a mistake and pulled the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in North Carolina

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $1000

  • Be sentenced to up to 60 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended (based upon a point system)

Penalty for reckless driving in North Carolina

Exceeding the speed limit by 15 mph is automatically considered reckless driving in this state.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $1000

  • Be sentenced to up to 60 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended (based upon a point system)

Violators may also be required to complete a driver improvement course. It’s of note that driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit will result in a suspended license, provided the speed of travel is faster than 55mph.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222 code means The manufacturer specifies a range of acceptable voltage to be produced from the throttle position...
How to Buy Fuel Treatments
Adding a fuel additive to your gas tank when you fill up is one way to clean vital engine parts of deposits, improve the performance of your engine,...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...


Related questions

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...

Q: Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...