Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-103658-1fgyolgjs:173:8

Louisiana Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Louisiana Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Louisiana.

Speed limits in Louisiana

75 mph: along 154 miles of Interstate 49

70 mph: as posted along other interstates

65 mph: multi-lane divided highways with partial or no access control

60 mph: urban interstates and freeways, as posted

55 mph: undivided two-lane roads

School zones vary by location, and may be posted with specific hours and/or yellow flashing lights that are active during reduced speed limit hours. Residential speed limits in Louisiana may also vary, as posted.

Louisiana code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 32:64(A) of Louisiana vehicle code, “No person shall drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and potential hazards then existing, having due regard for the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and the condition of the weather.”

Minimum speed law:

Sections 32:64(B) and 32:71(B)(2) state:

“No person shall operate a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“A person who is operating a motor vehicle on a multilane highway at a speed slower than 10 mph than the posted speed limit shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Louisiana due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Louisiana

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $175 (plus a $5 fee to fund the Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund)

  • Be sentenced to up to 30 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Penalty for reckless driving in Louisiana

In this state, going 15 mph or more over the speed limit is automatically considered reckless driving.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $200

  • Be sentenced to up to 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Violators may be required to attend traffic school, and/or may be able to have their speeding fine reduced by attending these classes.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

P0121 OBD-II Trouble Code: TPS "A" Circuit Range Performance Problem
P0121 code definition Throttle Pedal Position Sensor/Switch (TPS) A Circuit Range Performance Problem What the P0121 code means P0121 is a generic OBD-II code which indicates that the Engine Control...
P0052 OBD-II Trouble Code: HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0052 code definition HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1) What the P0052 code means This code is seen when the Engine Control Module (ECM) tries to control the...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...


Related questions

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...

Q: Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...