$123.64 - $445.92
All drivers in the state of Oklahoma are required to carry automotive liability insurance, or “financial responsibility,” on their vehicles in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle registration.
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for Oklahoma drivers are as follow:
A minimum of $25,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $50,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $25,000 for property damage liability
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $75,000 to cover bodily injury or death, and property damage liability.
Additionally, all insurance providers are required to offer Uninsured Motorist Coverage in their minimum insurance policies. Oklahoma residents however can refuse this coverage.
Oklahoma Automobile Insurance Plan
All authorized insurance providers in Oklahoma have the right to refuse coverage to drivers who are deemed “high-risk.” This means that a driver has been in multiple car accidents within a specific time, or that they have been convicted of many traffic violations in the past.
In order to ensure that all drivers maintain the proper liability insurance, Oklahoma operates the Oklahoma Automobile Insurance Plan, which allows any driver to apply for insurance through participating insurance providers.
Proof of insurance
In order to register your vehicle with the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Division, you must surrender a proof of insurance document. You must also keep a proof of insurance document in your vehicle because you are required to show it during a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident.
Acceptable forms for proof of insurance must include the following information:
The name and address of the insurance provider
The insurance provider’s National Association of Insurance Commissioner numbers
Your vehicle’s year, make, model, and vehicle identification number
The effective and expiration dates of the insurance policy
A warning that you are required to both surrender a copy when registering and keep a copy in your vehicle at all times.
This statement should be exactly as written: “Examine policy exclusions carefully. This form does not constitute any part of your insurance policy.”
Additionally, Oklahoma maintains an insurance verification system that monitors the insurance status of all registered vehicles. All insurance providers are required to report changes to your insurance policy through this electronic monitoring system, so that your insurance can be verified at any time.
If you do not carry the legally required financial responsibility in Oklahoma, fail to present proof of insurance when required, or your insurance can not be electronically verified, you could face several penalties. These include:
A suspension of your driver’s license
A suspension of your vehicle registration
A fine of up to $250
A sentence of 30 days in jail
For more information, or to renew your vehicle’s registration online, contact the Motor Vehicle Division of the Oklahoma Tax Commission through their website.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING