Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Vermont

car title Vermont

You've probably never given your car title much thought before. Really, unless you are transferring ownership of your vehicle, or selling it, the title doesn't come into play. That's exactly why it's so easy for it to go missing, get damaged, or even get stolen. Thankfully there is no need to stress about it, as you can obtain a duplicate car title with relative ease.

In the state of Vermont you will be applying for a duplicate title through the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Keep in mind if your vehicle is 15 years old or newer, you will be required by law to have a title. There are a few exceptions to this rule, which the DMV can fill you in on. Applying for a duplicate title can be done in person, by mail, or online. Here’s a look at the process.

  • Begin by calling your local DMV branch office to see if they in fact handle duplicate car titles. Not all of them do.

  • You will need to fill out the Duplicate Title Application (Form TA-VT-04).
    Note: All owners of the vehicle must sign the application.

  • Bring photo ID with you when you drop off the application.

  • There is a fee of $33 for the duplicate car title.

By mail

  • Fill out the Duplicate Title Application, and have all owners sign the form.
    Note: You'll need to include your current odometer reading, the year and make of your car, and the ID number.

  • Be sure to include the $33 fee.

  • Mail the information to the main office for the DMV in Montpelier.

120 State St
Montpelier, VT 05603

Online

  • Follow the steps on the DMV Express Portal to apply online.

  • There are also DMV kiosks that you can visit and fill out the information.

You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Vermont by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Symptoms of a Bad or Failing Flexible Clutch Hose
Common signs include difficulty shifting, low clutch fluid, and feeling no resistance at the clutch pedal.
P0052 OBD-II Trouble Code: HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0052 code definition HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1) What the...
How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...


Related questions

Q: What is the best first car for me ?

A 2005 Toyota Corolla CE typically sells for around $3,500 if you buy it it privately (that is, not from a used car dealer). That vehicle will get up to 35 MPG on the highway, which is good. Also, because...

Q: To repair or not repair?

Hi there. I can certainly understand and appreciate your concern. The highest priority on your list should be safety related items, followed by potential failures, then any maintenance. What I suggest you do is weigh the cost of the repairs...

Q: 2006 Pontiac Solstice starter replacement.

Hi there. The cost of replacing a starter varies on which shop you take your vehicle to. Each shop has a different hourly rate and a different plan like adding a diagnosis with the replacement. The price that you have...