$123.64 - $445.92
The state of Missouri requires all motor vehicles to pass a vehicle safety inspection, except in a few specific exemptions. Inspection certifications are awarded by the state, and can offer those seeking an automotive technician job an excellent way to build their resume.
Missouri motor vehicle inspection licensing
There are two types of state vehicle inspection licenses in Missouri: a permit to inspect only motorcycles, and a permit to inspect only motor vehicles. In order to inspect both vehicles and motorcycles, a mechanic must meet the qualifications listed below, and pass two separate examinations – one for each license.
In order to qualify as an inspector/mechanic within the state of Missouri, an automotive service technician must have at least one of the following:
One year of practical experience in an auto technician job
A degree or certificate of completion from an auto mechanic school or vocational program
Inspector/mechanics must be at least 17 years old, and must pass a written exam that covers all the contents of the inspection manuall. In order to pass the exam, the student must score at least an 80%.
There is no charge to receive an inspector’s permit, and permits are valid for a three-year period. If the inspector’s permit expires, the mechanic must retake the exam to qualify for a new permit. Additionally, state law allows the State Patrol to retest an inspector at any time, for any reason; if the inspector does not pass the exam during a random retesting, their permit will be suspended for at least 30 days. They must then attempt to pass the exam again, and may not perform inspections until they do.
Exams are given in various locations on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.
To be scheduled for an exam, a mechanic must submit an official Inspector/Mechanic Application to the Missouri State Highway Patrol.
Missouri vehicle inspection requirements
The following exemptions are the only scenarios in which a vehicle does not have to be safety inspected in the state of Missouri:
During the first five years from the date the vehicle’s manufacturing. This exemption does not apply to emissions testing.
Vehicles registered for more than 26,000 pounds, and for a period of less than 12 months, such as a quarterly registered vehicle.
Vehicles engaged in interstate commerce and registered with the Missouri Department of Transportation.
Vehicles that have historic plates.
Vehicles with salvage titles.
Vehicles sold from one dealer to another dealer.
Safety inspections are also accompanied by emissions tests in St. Louis County, St. Louis City, St. Charles County, Franklin County, and Jefferson County. There are many exemptions for emissions tests that can be found at the Department of Revenue’s website. Finally, all commercial vehicles must be inspected according to both Missouri state law, and the FCSMA regulations.
Annual vehicle inspection report for commercial vehicles in Missouri
The following systems or vehicle components must be inspected to declare a commercial vehicle safe, according to the FMCSA’s Annual Vehicle Inspection Report, used by all Missouri automotive tech jobs:
- Wheels and Rims
- Brake System
- Exhaust System
- Safe Loading
- Fuel System
- Lighting Devices
- Coupling Devices
If you’re already a certified mechanic and you’re interested in working with YourMechanic, submit an online application for an opportunity to become a mobile mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING