$92.73 - $160.32
In the State of Utah, the DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles) provides disabled parking plates and placards to people who have disabilities. If you live in Utah, and you are disabled, you may qualify for a special plate or placard.
Types of permits
In the State of Utah, if you are disabled, you could qualify for:
- A permanent placard
- A temporary placard
- A permanent license plate
You can also qualify for an institutional placard if you are a member of an organization that, in the ordinary course of activity, transports people who have disabilities.
If you are visiting the State of Utah, and you have a disability, you will not have to apply for a special placard or plate. The State of Utah will recognize the permits from your home state, and accord you all the rights and privileges that they give to disabled residents of Utah.
You are required to obey certain laws.
You may not let anyone else use your disability placard or plate – if you do, then you are in violation of the law, and you could be fined and also lose your plate or placard.
You are entitled to park in certain special spaces, but you may not park in emergency vehicle zones – in this regard, the law applies to you in the same way that it does to people who do not have disabilities.
You can request a disability license plate or placard in person or by mail. Either way, you will have to fill out the Disabled Person and Physician Disability Certification. If you are applying for yourself, then you must have your doctor complete the section for certification. If you are applying for an organization, then you have to complete it.
Placards are free. License plates cost $15. If you are applying by mail, you must include a three dollar shipping fee. You can apply in person at your local DMV office, or mail your application to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Mail and Correspondence
P.O. Box 30412
Salt Lake City, UT 84130
There are rules regarding renewal.
Placards do expire and must be renewed. A temporary placard is only good for six months, and cannot be renewed – if your temporary placard expires, you have to re-apply.
If you have a permanent placard, it will still expire – it is only good for two years. When you renew, though, you will not have to have certification from your doctor.
Plates are renewed at the same time as your vehicle registration.
Lost, stolen or damaged placards
If you lose your placard, or it is stolen, or damaged to the point where it is no longer recognizable, then you can have it replaced. You will have to fill out the form again, but you will not need a doctor’s certification. You will, however, need the plate or placard number, and you will have to pay a $15 replacement fee. Mail any paperwork and fees to the address above.
As a disabled driver in the State of Utah, you are entitled to rights and privileges that are not accorded to drivers who do not have disabilities. You have to apply for them, though – they are not given automatically.
Schedule Oil Change
Engine oil is the lifeblood of the engine. The oil resides in the oil pan, which is under the car attached to the bottom of the engine. All internal (moving) parts of the engine need to be lubricated by the engine oil. Inadequate lubrication will cause the parts to wear out faster and eventually lea... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING