$124.62 - $450.29
Whether or not you a disabled driver, you should be aware of the disabled driver laws in your state. Every state is a little different in the rules and regulations they have for disabled drivers. Mississippi is no exception.
How do I know if I am eligible for a disabled driver placard/and or license plate in Mississippi?
You may be eligible for either a placard or a license plate if you suffer from one or more of the following:
- The inability to walk 200 feet without stepping for rest or requiring assistance
- You require portable oxygen
- You have an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition that limits your mobility
- You have a cardiac condition classified as a Class III or IV by the American Heart Association
- You require a cane, crutch, wheelchair, or some other assistive device
- You suffer from a lung disease that severely restricts your breathing
- If you suffer from legal blindness
I feel I am eligible to apply. Now what is the next step?
The next step is to apply for a disabled driver placard and/or license plate. To do this, complete the Disabled Parking Application (Form 76-104). Before submitting this form, you must visit a doctor who can then verify that you suffer from a condition that qualifies you for disabled parking privileges. Your doctor will sign off on the form. This doctor can be:
A physician or physician’s assistant A chiropractor An osteopath An advanced registered nurse A podiatrist An ophthalmologist or optometrist
The next step is to submit your application in person to your closest local Mississippi DMV or by mail to the address specified on the form.
Where am I allowed and not allowed to park with my disabled driver placard and/or license plate?
In Mississippi, as is true in all states, you may park anywhere you see the International Symbol of Access. You may not park in areas marked “no parking anytime” or in loading or bus zones. Each state treats parking meter spaces differently. Some states allow you to park for an unlimited amount of time while others will offer a little extra time to those with disabled driver placards. Please be sure to check on the specific rules for the state in which you visiting or traveling through.
If I am using my placard, does that mean that I have be the main driver of the vehicle?
No. You may be a passenger in the vehicle and still use your parking placard. The only rule is that you are in the vehicle whenever you decide to use our placard.
May I lend my placard to someone else, even if that person has an obvious disability?
No, you may not. Your placard is yours only, and must remain only in your possession. Lending your placard to someone else is considered abuse of your disabled parking privileges and may result in a fine of several hundred dollars.
Is there a proper way to display my placard once I receive it?
Yes. You should hang your placard from your rearview mirror whenever your vehicle is parked. If you do not have a rearview mirror in your vehicle, place the placard on your dashboard with the expiration date facing up and toward the windshield. You must make sure that a law enforcement officer can see your placard clearly should he or she need to.
How do I renew my placard and/or license plate?
To renew your placard in the state of Mississippi, you must fill out another application, the same application you filled out when you applied the first time, and have a doctor certify that you still have the same disability or that you have another disability that inhibits your mobility. You renew your disabled driver license plate every year when you renew your vehicle registration.
Can I use my Mississippi placard in another state?
Most states accept out of state placards. However, while you are within another state’s boundaries you must follow that state’s rules. This is why it is so important to learn about the specific rules and guidelines in other states.
What is the cost of a disabled driver placard?
Disability placards in Mississippi are free.
What if I am a disabled veteran?
If you are a disabled veteran in Mississippi, you must provide certification that you are 100 percent disabled. You can get this information from your Veteran’s Affair Board, and once you have this information send it on to the county tax collector’s office. The fee for the disabled veteran’s license late in Mississippi is 1 dollar.
Please note that if you lose or misplace your placard, you should contact the county tax collector’s office to inquire about getting a replacement.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING