$125.02 - $443.96
Driving in New Hampshire requires motorists to understand and follow the traffic rules that are applicable throughout the state. In addition to the rules of the road, drivers are also required to make sure that their windshields are in compliance with the regulations issued by the state. Below you will find the windshield laws in New Hampshire that all drivers are required to follow when operating their vehicle on the roadways.
New Hampshire has specific laws in place concerning the windshield and the accompanying equipment that vehicles are required to have.
Any vehicle driven on the roads and highways throughout the state is required to have a windshield.
Windshield wipers that the driver controls and that effectively clear the windshield of rain, snow, sleet and other moisture are required on all vehicles.
All vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1947 are required to have a defroster that melts ice and snow from the windshield.
Both the windshield wipers and defroster must be maintained in good working condition.
All vehicles that were manufactured or otherwise assembled after January 1, 1936 are required to have safety glass for the windshield and all other windows. The safety glass must be manufactured in such a way as to lessen the potential for injury due to shattering or broken glass when struck or broken when compared with traditional plate glass.
New Hampshire drivers must also make sure their view of the roadways is clear by complying with the following regulations:
Signs, posters and other nontransparent materials are not permitted adjacent to or on the windshield or side windows.
Stickers required by law are permitted providing they are positioned in the lower corners of the windshield.
Any vehicle with nontransparent materials on the rear window must have a side mirror on each side of the vehicle to provide a clear view to the rear of the vehicle.
Drivers are permitted to have tinted windows in New Hampshire as long as the tint is within the following regulations:
Any tint applied to the windshield must be non-reflective and cannot extend beyond the top six inches of the windshield.
No tint is permitted on the front side windows.
Tint applied to the back side and rear window must have a light transmittance of 35%.
Mirrored and metallic tints are prohibited.
Any vehicle with tint applied to the rear window must have dual side mirrors.
Cracks, chips and defects
New Hampshire regulations for cracked and chipped windshields are as follows:
- Windshields cannot be cracked.
- Windshields cannot have shattered areas.
- Windshields cannot be clouded or otherwise distorted.
Drivers who are stopped due to violations of the above windshield laws can face fines starting at $75 for each offense.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING