$124.62 - $450.29
If you drive on the roadways in Missouri, you already know you are required to follow the myriad traffic rules to do so safely and legally. In addition to those rules motorists are also required to make sure that their vehicles meet the windshield safety standards. In Missouri, failing to follow the below windshield laws will not only result in possible fines if you are stopped by law enforcement, your vehicle may not pass the required inspection that vehicles must undergo before being registered.
Missouri has the following requirements for windshields and devices:
All vehicles are required to have windshields that are attached properly and in an upright position.
All vehicles must have working windshield wipers with blades that are free from tears and other damage. Additionally, the wiper arms must ensure complete contact with the surface of the windshield.
The windshields and windows on all vehicles manufactured after 1926 must be made of safety glazing material or safety glass, which is manufactured in a way that drastically reduces the possibility of flying or shattering glass if it is struck or involved in an accident.
Vehicles cannot have posters, signs or other nontransparent materials on or in the windshield or other windows that obstruct the driver’s view.
Only required inspection stickers and certificates may be affixed to the windshield.
Missouri allows window tint that complies with the following:
Tint on the windshield must be non-reflective and is only permitted above the AS-1 manufacturer line.
Tint on front side windows must allow over 25% light transmittance.
Reflective tint on the front and back side windows cannot reflect more than 25%
Chips, cracks and defects
Missouri also requires that all vehicle windshields allow clear views of the roadway and intersecting roadways. The regulations concerning cracks, chips and other defects are as follows:
Windshields cannot have any areas of breakage that are shattered, have missing pieces or have sharp edges.
Any star type breaks, which are those that have a point of impact surrounded by radiating cracks, are not permitted.
Half-moon and bull’s eye chips in the glass that are within three inches of another area of damage and within the driver’s viewing area are not permitted.
Any cracks, chips or areas of discoloration that are located within an area four inches above the bottom of the windshield and within the swipe of the windshield wipers in the driver’s view are not permitted.
Any chips, bull’s eye or half-moon chips that are larger than two inches in diameter are not permitted anywhere on the windshield.
No cracks longer than three inches are permitted within the swipe area of the windshield wipers.
Failing to comply with the above laws will result in fines that are determined by the county and the vehicle not passing inspection for registration.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING