$125.02 - $465.01
Every time you are on the road, there are a variety of rules that you must follow. Some are common sense, while others are mandated by the state in which you live. However, if you are traveling through your state or even moving to another state, there may be rules that are different from the state in which you live. The following are the rules of the road for Arkansas drivers that might be different from what you are used to in your own state.
Drivers hauling trash or other materials must ensure that nothing falls or drops out of the vehicle. Failing to do so will result in fines and potentially community service.
It is unlawful to leave old tires, vehicle parts or appliances on or beside the roadways in Arkansas.
If littering occurs from a vehicle, it becomes prima facie evidence that the driver is responsible for it unless it can be proven otherwise.
Children six and under must be in a secured safety seat appropriate for their height and weight.
Children 15 and under are required to be in safety restraints that are designed for their height and weight.
The driver and any passengers in the front seat are required to wear a seatbelt with the lap and shoulder belts in the proper positions.
Law enforcement can pull vehicles over due to noticing that someone is not buckled or buckled properly.
Right of way
Drivers must always yield the right of way to pedestrians, even if they are breaking a law or crossing illegally.
Right-of-way laws state who must yield. However, they do not give right of way to any driver. As a driver you are required to yield if not doing so will cause an accident, regardless of what the circumstances may be.
Cell phone use
It is illegal for drivers to text while driving.
Drivers 18 years old and under are not permitted to use a cell phone or a hands-free device while driving.
Cell phone use is permitted by drivers age 21 and over.
Learner’s license - Arkansas allows children between the ages of 14 and 16 to obtain learner’s license after passing the required exams.
Intermediate license - An Intermediate License is issued to drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 upon passing required exams.
Class D license - A Class D license is a non-restricted driver’s license that is issued to drivers who are 18 years or older. This license is only issued if the driver has not had a serious traffic violation conviction or a serious accident in the previous 12-month period.
Mopeds and scooters - Children between 14 and 16 must apply for and pass required exams to receive a Motor Driven Cycles (Class MD) license before riding mopeds, scooters and other motor driven cycles that displace 250 cubic centimeters or less on the streets.
Motorized bicycles - Children between 14 and 16 are required to have a Motorized Bicycle Certificate in order to ride motorcycles or motorized bicycles that displace 50 cubic centimeters or less on the streets.
Smoking - It is illegal to smoke in a vehicle if any children age 14 and under are present.
Flashing yellow arrows - A flashing yellow arrow on a traffic signal means that drivers are permitted to turn left, but are required to yield to pedestrians and oncoming traffic.
Move over - When driving on multilane highways, drivers are required to move to the lane that is the farthest away from a stopped police or emergency vehicle with its lights flashing.
Headlights - Headlights must be turned on anytime a driver must use the windshield wipers in order to see the road during low-visibility situations.
Parking lights - Driving with only the parking lights on is illegal in the state of Arkansas.
Alcohol - While the legal limit for blood alcohol is 0.08%, if a driver commits a serious traffic offense or is involved in a serious traffic accident, a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) charge is possible with a blood alcohol level as low as 0.04%.
Epilepsy - People with epilepsy are permitted to drive providing they have not had a seizure in one year and they are under a doctor’s care.
Working mufflers are required on all vehicles.
An intact windshield with working wipers is required. Cracks or damage can’t obscure the driver’s view.
A working horn is required on all vehicles.
Following these rules will make sure you drive legally on Arkansas roads. If you need additional information, check the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING