Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

Mississippi Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Mississippi Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Mississippi.

Speed limits in Mississippi

In 2008, Mississippi legislators approved a speed limit of up to 80 mph on toll roads. The catch is that as of 2016, no toll roads actually exist in the state.

70 mph: rural freeways and interstates

65 mph: four-lane divided highways

60 mph: portions of interstates and other freeways that pass through urban areas

45 mph: maximum speed for trucks and trucks with trailers during inclement weather

Residential and school speed limits are set by individual cities and counties, and are as posted.

School zone speed limits may vary according to district.

Mississippi code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 63-3-501 of Mississippi vehicle code, “No person shall operate a vehicle on the highways of the state at a speed greater than 65 miles per hour.”

Minimum speed law:

Section 63-3-603(d) states, “A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

The minimum speed limit on Federal designated highways is 30 mph, when no hazard exists, and 40 mph on interstates and four-lane highways with a posted speed limit of 70 mph.

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

Due to Mississippi’s absolute speed limit law, it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket. Drivers may, however, fight a citation by claiming innocence based on one of the following arguments:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Mississippi

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $100

  • Be sentenced to up to 10 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended (no specified period)

Penalty for reckless driving in Mississippi

There is no defined speed which is considered reckless driving in the state. This determination is made depending upon the circumstances of the violation.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined between $5 and $100

  • Be sentenced to up to 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended (no specified period)

Participating in traffic school in Mississippi may prevent a speeding violation from going on a driver’s record.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.


Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.


More related articles

P0121 OBD-II Trouble Code: TPS "A" Circuit Range Performance Problem
P0121 code definition Throttle Pedal Position Sensor/Switch (TPS) A Circuit Range Performance Problem What the P0121 code means P0121 is a generic OBD-II code which indicates that the Engine Control...
P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222 code means The manufacturer specifies a range of acceptable voltage to be produced from the throttle position...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....

Related questions

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...

Q: i cut off the roof

If you still have the windshield and install a roll bar then you should not have a problem, but if I were you I would check with local ordnance to make sure it is legal.