$124.62 - $450.29
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration requires all drivers to carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility,” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle registration.
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for drivers in Maryland are as follows:
A minimum of $30,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $60,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $15,000 for property damage liability
A minimum of $30,000 per person, for uninsured or under-insured motorist liability. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $60,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum of $15,000 for property damage uninsured motorist liability
A minimum of $2,500 for personal injury protection. This is important because Maryland is a no-fault state, which means that the other party’s insurance may not pay for your personal injury regardless of who is at fault.
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $79,000 to cover bodily injury, property damage, uninsured or under-insured motorist, and personal injury protection liability insurance.
Waiving personal injury protection
Maryland law does allow drivers to waive the requirement for personal injury protection in order to obtain more affordable insurance plans. This puts you at risk for unpaid medical bills in the event that you are involved in an auto accident.
Maryland does not require other types of insurance, such as comprehensive coverage or collision coverage.
Proof of insurance
The state of Maryland does not accept insurance cards as legal proof of financial responsibility. Instead, you must present a Maryland Insurance Certificate, also known as an FR-19, in order to register your vehicle.
FR-19 forms can be obtained through your insurance company. These forms:
Are only valid for 30 days
May be faxed or emailed to the MVA
May not be presented in the form of a copy
Proof of insurance will be checked electronically at traffic stops or at the scene of an accident. Your insurance provider is required to report any changes to your insurance policy to the Maryland electronic monitoring system.
If you fail to carry the proper insurance in Maryland, there are several types of penalties that could be issued:
A fine of at least $150 for the first 30 days of driving without insurance, and an additional $7 for each day after 30 days.
Vehicle plates and vehicle registration suspension
Suspended registration or renewal privileges
$30 registration restoration fee once you have proven that you carry the proper insurance
Canceling your insurance
If you wish to cancel your insurance, you must first return your license plates to a Maryland MVA office.
For more information, contact the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration of the Department of Transportation through their website.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING