Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-5336-ym44y1js:173:8

How to Transfer a Car Title in Georgia

How to Transfer a Car Title in Georgia

The owner of a car must have a title to it in their name. When you buy from a dealership in Georgia, the dealer will handle this process (and the bank will hold the title if you’re not paying the car off). However, if you’re buying a car from a private seller, then you’ll need to take the right steps to transfer the title into your name. This also applies if you’re receiving a car as a gift, or if you’re inheriting a vehicle from a family member who has passed away.

Georgia buyers

For buyers in Georgia, the process of transferring a title is pretty straightforward. You’ll need to complete the following steps:

  • Check that the title is complete. If it is blank, you cannot accept it. Georgia law prohibits this (both you and the seller will be in violation of the law).
  • Make sure that the seller provides you with a lien release for any liens on the title.
  • Sign the title to acknowledge the odometer reading unless the vehicle is exempt. Exemptions include:
  • The vehicle is 10 years old or older.
  • The vehicle weighs over 16,000 pounds.
  • There are other exemptions but they do not apply to private buyers.
  • Get insurance coverage on the car and provide proof of that coverage.
  • Complete the Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application.
  • If you live in Fulton County or the 12 counties surrounding Fulton, you will need to have an emissions inspection completed and provide proof.
  • Bring all this information, plus the title and the required fees to the DMV office. Fees include:
    • $18 for the transfer fee
    • $20 for the registration fee
    • The ad valorem tax. The state of Georgia has a calculator that you can use to determine how much tax you will owe.

Common mistakes

Georgia sellers

Like buyers, sellers in the state of Georgia have specific steps to complete in order to transfer a car title. They are as follows:

  • Complete the back of the title, including all applicable fields. These include your name and address, the date of the sale and the odometer reading, unless the vehicle is exempt (see exemptions above).
  • Print your name and sign the title.
  • Provide the buyer with a lien release for each lien on the title.
  • Provide a bill of sale (note that this is optional, but a good idea).

Gifted and inherited vehicles

The process for transferring a title for a gifted vehicle is the same as for buying one outright, and will require the same paperwork and fees. For inheriting a vehicle, the process is similar, but you will need to provide an Affidavit of Inheritance of a Motor Vehicle, as well as a copy of the Letters of Testamentary/Administration and a copy of the death certificate. If the will does not go through probate, you will need to provide a copy of that as well.

For more information about how to transfer a car title in Georgia, visit the state’s DOR website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...


Related questions

Q: Recieved the signed title but no bill of sale after purchasing a car

no charge for this answer: If the seller has signed over the vehicle to you, by conveying the ORIGINAL title (that is by signing the title over to you) you should not need additional "proof" of sale. The "conveyed" title...