Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Oregon

car title Oklahoma

It's hard to keep track of all our important pieces of information and ID. Your car title is one of those items you may have lost track of over the years, and suddenly now that you're ready to transfer ownership of your vehicle or sell it, you're going to need that title. So what do you do if you’ve either lost your car title or had it stolen? That’s when it’s time to pay a visit to your local DMV.

If you live in the state of Oregon, applying for a duplicate car title is a relatively simple process that you will do through the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV). This is meant for residents of the state as a way to replace a lost, mutilated, destroyed, or stolen title. You can go about this process in person or by mail, whichever is the most convenient for you. Here’s a look at the steps involved.

In person

  • Applying in person is simple just begin by filling out the Application for Replacement Title (Form 735-515). Please be aware that all of the owners of the vehicle will need to sign this form.

  • The fee for the title varies depending on the type of vehicle. It ranges from $90 for a motor with a gross vehicle weight of more than 26,000 lbs or a trailer loaded with more than 8,000 lbs, to $77 for all other types of vehicles. Payment can be made in the form of a money order or check payable to the "Oregon DMV".

  • Your information plus the fee can be taken to your local DMV office.

By mail

  • Follow the same steps and the same fee structure, and then you can mail the information to the following address:

DMV Headquarters
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314

It should be noted that in most cases you can expect to receive your duplicate car title within five weeks. You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Oregon by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
How to Transfer a Car Title in Idaho
In order to prove ownership of a car, you must have the title. However, when a car is sold, given away or inherited, the title needs...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...


Related questions

Q: I saw this car, and the owner is selling it,

Vehicles that were badly wrecked will usually get a salvage title, which means the vehicle damage was estimated to be more than roughly 70% of the value of the vehicle. Also, from personal experience, anyone with a salvage title car...

Q: Should I sell my car or pay for the repairs?

I would first get a quote for all the repairs needed after a thorough complete inspection of all major systems. Get quotes on all the problems including replacing the transmission and rack and pinion. Once you have a price for...

Q: When should I change the timing belt?

It's recommended by Volkswagen to have the timing belt replaced at least every 100,000 miles. If this hasn't been done yet on your vehicle to your knowledge, with 136,000 on the vehicle, it's probably due. This job can be rather...