$124.88 - $443.82
Drivers in South Carolina know they are required to follow many different traffic laws when traveling the roadways throughout the state. However, there are also additional regulations concerning the safety and integrity of the equipment on the vehicle. The following are the windshield laws in South Carolina.
In South Carolina, there are no laws stating that a vehicle must have a windshield. However, vehicles that are equipped with one are required to comply with the following:
Any vehicle that has a windshield is required to have working windshield wipers that remove rain and other types of moisture from the windshield in front of the driver. The blades must be in good condition and cannot leave smears within the driver’s view.
Any wiper system that has two wipers, both wipers must work properly and have blades that are in good condition.
All windshields and windows in the vehicle must be made of safety glazing material or safety glass, which is a combination of glass and other materials designed to lessen the possibility of shattering and flying glass if it is struck or involved in an accident.
South Carolina windshield obstruction regulations include:
No posters, signs and nontransparent materials are permitted on the windshield, sidewings, side windows or rear windows.
Electronic devices such as transponders and antennas can be mounted no lower than six inches below the top of the windshield and cannot be within the areas that are swiped by the windshield wipers.
Stickers that are required by law are permitted on the windshield.
South Carolina window tint laws are as follows:
Windshield tint must be non-reflective and placed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Tint applied to the front side, back side and rear window must provide greater than 27% light transmittance.
Reflective tint is not permitted.
Dual side mirrors are required on all vehicles with tinted rear windows.
Red tint is not permitted on any vehicle.
Tint installers must affix a sticker certifying legal tint limits between the glass and film on each window.
Medical exceptions for those sensitive to sunlight may be permitted with an approved medical evaluation from a physician and a permit issued by the Drivers Medical Evaluation Program.
Cracks and chips
South Carolina does not have specific regulations on cracks and chips in the windshield. However, the state does have a law that requires insurance companies to waive the deductible for windshield replacement. Based on this, cracks and chips in the driver’s view are likely to lead to a traffic stop.
Failing to comply with the above laws in South Carolina can result in citations and fines.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING