$124.62 - $450.29
If you drive, you are probably very familiar with the laws that you must follow in your own state. However, different states have varying road rules, and that means you need to be familiar with them if you plan to move or visit a particular state. The following are the rules of the road for Kentucky drivers that may differ from the ones in the state in which you normally drive.
Permits and licenses
Children must be age 16 in order to obtain a permit in Kentucky.
Drivers with a permit can only drive with a licensed driver that is 21 or older.
Permit holders under the age of 18 are not permitted to drive between 12 AM and 6 AM unless the person can show that there is good cause for doing so.
Passengers are limited to one person that is not related and under the age of 20.
Permit holders must pass the driving skills test after holding the permit for 180 days if aged 16 to 20 or after 30 days if 21 or older.
Kentucky does not accept laminated social security cards when applying for permits or licenses.
New residents must obtain a Kentucky license within 30 days of establishing residency in the state.
Windshield wipers - All vehicles must have a working windshield wiper on the driver’s side of the windshield.
Mufflers - Mufflers that limit both noise and smoke are required on all vehicles.
Steering gears - Steering gears must not allow more than ¼ turn of free play.
Seat belts - Cars manufactured after 1967 and light trucks manufactured after 1971 must have working seat belts.
Funeral processions always have the right of way.
It is illegal to pass a procession unless told to do so by a law enforcement officer.
It is also illegal to turn on your headlights or attempt to become a part of the procession in an effort to gain the right of way.
All drivers and passengers are required to wear a safety belt that is fastened and properly adjusted.
Children that are 40 inches tall or less must be in a safety or booster seat designed for their height and weight.
Additional lights - Vehicles can have no more than three additional fog or driving lights.
Right of way - Drivers are required to yield the right of way to pedestrians at intersections, crosswalks and when making a turn where pedestrians are crossing at a light.
Left lane - When driving on a limited access highway it is illegal to stay in the left hand lane. This lane is for passing only.
Keys - Kentucky requires all drivers to remove the keys when a vehicle is left with no one inside it.
Headlights - Drivers must turn on headlights at sunset or when it is foggy, snowy or rainy.
Speed limits - Posted speed limits are there to provide a maximum speed. If traffic, weather conditions, visibility or the condition of the road are bad, drivers must slow down to a safer speed.
Following - Drivers must leave a minimum of three seconds of space between vehicles that they are following. This cushion of space should increase to four to five seconds at higher speeds.
Buses - Drivers must stop when a school or church bus is loading or unloading passengers. Only vehicles on the opposite side of a four lane or more highway are not required to stop.
Unattended children - It is illegal to leave a child under the age of eight unattended in a vehicle if doing so creates a grave risk of death, such as in hot weather.
Accidents - Any accident that causes more than $500 in property damage or that causes injury or death must be reported to the police.
These rules of the road in Kentucky may differ from those in other states, so it is important that you are familiar with them and other common traffic laws that remain the same in all states. If you would like more information, please reference the Kentucky Driver Manual.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING