Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Missouri

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Missouri

car title Missouri

Your car title is a very important document. This small piece of paper identifies you as the registered owner of your vehicle, which also gives you the ability to sell your car, transfer ownership, and register it in another state. Most of the times, this is a piece of paper you won’t use, or even think about on a daily basis. However, when these situations pop up you’ll find yourself suddenly reaching for it. So what happens if you can’t find that title or worse yet, what happens if it has been stolen? That’s when you’ll need to look at getting a duplicate car title.

In the state of Missouri these duplicate car titles are taken care of by the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). The process is easy to follow and relatively quick. You've got the option of applying in person or by mail, whatever is more convenient for you.

In person

  • If you opt to obtain your duplicate car title in person, then you will need to locate your nearest MO DOR office.

  • Next you'll need to complete the Application for Missouri Title and Licence (Form DOR-108). You can pick up the form at a local office, or download it online. Be sure to include the reason you are asking for a duplicate title and your address.

  • You will need a notary to witness your signature, you will have to submit your current title if you have it (no matter how damaged it may be), and include the fees. There is a $2.50 processing fee, and the duplicate title is $11.

By mail

  • Should you choose to mail your application, just follow all of the steps from above, and then send the materials you have filled out and check to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street
Room 370
P.O. Box 100
Jefferson City, MO 65105

You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Missouri by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2422 OBD-II Trouble Code: Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2422 P2422 code definition Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP)...
Auto Safety Tips
Driving is more than a way to get from point A to point B. Owning and driving a car can also be a highly enjoyable experience. Whether a person is driving...


Related questions

Q: is the crv better than hyundai 2009

Hi there. I like the Honda CRV since I have a 1998 Honda CRV EX AWD that I have owned since 2005 and have had no major problems. I just recently passed the car down to my daughter for her...

Q: Should I trade in my car or find someone who will buy it as a "junk" car?

Hi! It wouldn't be impossible to still try and sell the car. Some people like cars that are a little different from the mainstream. You have one of those cars. I'm thinking you may be able to sell it to...

Q: Is it illegal to have license plates as body work?

Hi Salvador, this is an interesting question. I'm not sure if it's legal or not so your best bet is to contact the Missouri DMV and see what they say.