Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

5 Essential Things to Know About Driver's Education

driver education

Driver’s education is an important consideration for many teens who are edging closer to that magical time when they become licensed drivers. However, before all the unbridled freedom and power of driving become yours, there are a few essential things you need to know about driver’s education.

Preparing Drivers

Driver’s education is designed to prepare both young and adult drivers that are interested in getting their driving license. The goal is to make sure that the rules of the road, along with how to stay safe when behind the wheel, are understood before a new driver gets behind the wheel to drive on his or her own.

All Courses Are Not Equal

When choosing a driver’s education course, it’s important that you ensure it is approved by your state. The increasing number of courses available, especially those that are online, could result in wasted time and money if your state does not recognize it. Additionally, you should verify that the instructor teaching the course is licensed to do so. Generally, the course should offer 45 hours of instruction in the classroom, followed by a minimum of 8 hours training behind the wheel.

The Course Isn’t Enough

While driver’s education is designed to help soon-to-be drivers gain the knowledge they need for safety and following road rules, the learning should not stop there. In order to make sure the new driver is comfortable behind the wheel after receiving his or her permit, additional drive time with parents or other licensed drivers is a must. This will expose the driver to more situations that may occur on the road, and the experienced driver will be right there to help him or her through the most difficult ones.

Requirements Vary for Each Course

Whether through a high school, the state or a standalone facility, driver’s education courses have different requirements. While some accept students at 15, others require students to be 16 years old. Some also have requirements concerning cost and how long the course will take.

State Requirements

You will also need to verify the driver’s education requirements for the state in which you live. There are strict rules as to whether the course is required in order to get a license, the eligibility and age requirements and where the course must be taken.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance Related Trouble Codes: P2158: Vehicle Speed Sensor B P2160: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Circuit Low P2161:...
What are the Car Pool Rules in Hawaii?
Hawaii is widely regarded as a land of vacation and relaxation, and as such, its scenic roads and routes are far better known than the state’s freeways. But, as with all...


Related questions

Q: What should I do before I start the engine and begin driving?

All drivers should go through a series of checks before they start the engine and hit the road. These will help you avoid potential injuries and accidents, and enhance both your safety and that of others on the road. ...

Q: How do I select the distance and fuel units?

The units of measurement for your distance and fuel can be personalized with just a few steps: 1. Press the Trip Computer switch until the settings menu shows up. 2. Rotate the Trip Computer switch to Units, then press the...

Q: How do I set the driver alert?

The driver alert feature displays a warning after a specific amount of time has passed. This can be a key safety feature that can be used to remember to take constant brakes while driving. To set the alert, follow these...