$125.02 - $465.01
If you are a licensed driver, you already know there are many rules that you are required to follow when operating a vehicle on Kansas roads. However, motorists must also make sure that their vehicles are in compliance with the windshield requirements in the state as well. The following are the windshield laws in Kansas.
All vehicles driven on the roadways in Kansas must have a windshield.
All vehicles are required to have windshield wipers under the control of the driver that clear rain, snow, sleet, and other moisture from the windshield.
All windshields and windows in motor vehicles operated on the roadways must have safety glazing materials, which are those that are manufactured to lessen the potential for shattering or flying glass if struck or involved in an accident.
Posters, signs and other nontransparent materials are not permitted on the front windshield or any other windows that substantially impairs or obstructs the driver’s ability to see the roadway and intersecting roadways clearly.
Federal regulations do permit stickers that are required by law in the lower corners or sides of the windshield providing the do not extend more than 4.5 inches from the bottom of the windshield.
The window tint laws in Kansas are as follows:
Non-reflective tint is permitted on the top portion of the windshield above the AS-1 line that is provided by the manufacturer.
All other windows can be tinted as long as over 35% of the available light pass through.
Mirrored and metallic tints that reflect are not permitted on any window.
It is illegal to use red tint on any windows and windshields.
Cracks and chips
Kansas law is not specific on the size of cracks or chips that are permitted. However, the statute states that:
It is illegal to drive a vehicle if the damage to the front windshield or windows presents a substantial obstruction to the driver’s view of the road and intersecting roads.
The ticketing officer can use his or her best judgement as to whether the cracks or chips in the windshield present an obstruction for the driver.
In addition, the federal regulations also include the following:
Cracks that do not intersect with another crack are permitted providing they do not obstruct the driver’s vision.
Chips that are less than ¾ of an inch in diameter and that are not closer than three inches to any other area of damage are permitted.
Failing to comply with the Kansas windshield laws can result in a minimum fine of $45 for the first offense. The second offense within two years will result in a fine that is 1.5 times that amount, and the third offense within two years will result in a fine that is double the original amount.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING