$124.62 - $450.29
Driving on the roads in Hawaii requires that you know the traffic laws that you have to follow. However, in addition to the rules of the road, you also have to make sure your windshield meets the requirements of the laws as well. Below are the windshield laws in Hawaii that you are required to follow if you want to avoid fines.
The requirements for your windshield in Hawaii are as follows:
All vehicles driven on the roads in Hawaii are required to have windshields.
Windshields must be constructed of glazing material, which is glass that is treated or combined with materials that minimize the potential for shattering or flying glass if it is struck or broken.
All vehicles must have working windshield wipers that are capable of removing rain and other types of moisture.
All vehicles must have a fluid reservoir for the windshield wipers that is free of leaks.
The wiper blades on all vehicles must be in a condition that does not leave streaks behind after five wiping cycles.
Cracks and chips
Hawaii does not mention regulations concerning chips or cracks in the windshield. However, drivers must follow federal regulations, which include:
There should be no areas of damage between the top of the steering wheel and the top edge of the windshield.
Cracks that do not have any other intersecting cracks are permitted if they do not obscure the driver’s view.
Chips and cracks that are smaller than ¾ of an inch in diameter and that are not within three inches of another area of damage are permitted.
Signs, posters and other nontransparent materials are not permitted on the windshield in any location that obstructs the driver’s view.
Stickers and signs are permitted in the lower corner closest to the driver in a five-inch square area.
Stickers and signs are permitted in the lower corner farthest from the driver in a seven-inch square area.
Drivers cannot have any tape or other materials in place of the windshield.
Hawaii does allow tint on the windshield as long as it is in compliance with the following:
Tint applied to the windshield is permitted providing that it allows over 70% of the light to pass through.
No mirrored or metallic tint is permitted on the windshield or any other window.
Drivers must have a receipt from the installer of the tint in the vehicle at all times.
A certificate from the installer stating that the tint is within the legal limits must be kept in the vehicle at all times.
Drivers who do not comply with these requirements could face fines ranging from $250 to $500 for each offense.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING