$124.62 - $450.29
Wyoming offers a number of benefits to veterans, as well as active duty military personnel. There are also a number of laws and regulations military members will need to know.
Driver’s license veteran designation
Veterans in Wyoming have the option of having a veteran designation on their license or their ID card. The designation is a red V that is in the upper right hand portion of the card, which serves to validate their service. In order to qualify for the designation, you need to provide a verification form as well as a copy of your separation papers, the DD 214.
Military honor plates
Wyoming offers a number of different types of military honor plates available to veterans, including the Gold Star Families plate. Plates available in the state include the following
- Former Prisoner of War (POW)
- Gold Star Families
- Disabled Veteran
- National Guard
- Purple Heart/Combat Wounded
- Veterans – Air Force
- Veterans – American Legion
- Veterans – Army
- Veterans – Coast Guard
- Veterans – Marines
- Veterans – Navy
The POW plates are free, but the veteran plates are $50, as well as the usual registration fees. To get the plates, you will need to have an honorable discharge, on your DD 214. If you are approved for the plates, they can be sent to your county treasurer’s office. You will send your payment in a check or money order to the following address.
Wyoming Veterans Commission
5410 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009
Military skills test waiver
In 2011, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration created the Commercial Learner’s Permit Rules. This lets the licensing agency in Wyoming provide drivers who have military driving experience with commercial vehicles to waive their requirement for a skills test when getting their commercial driver’s license in the state. However, you will need to apply for the commercial driver’s license within a year of leaving your position in the military where you were driving these vehicles. You also need to have at least two years of experience to qualify.
This can be a good option for those who want to put the skills they gained in the military to use in the civilian world once they get out of the service.
Military commercial driver’s license act of 2012
The Military Commercial Driver’s License Act, which went through in 2012, allows active duty members of the military to receive their commercial driver’s license in Wyoming, even if they are not a resident. If they are not residents, they still need to be based in the state. It doesn’t matter whether it is a temporary base or a permanent base though. All branches of the service have this benefit including the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Reserves, National Guard, Coast Guard, and the Coast Guard Auxiliary.
Driver license and registration renewal
Those who are on active duty are able to receive an extension to their driver’s license from the Wyoming Department of Transportation. In order to renew the license though, you will need to do so in person at one of the DOT offices in the state, and you will need to show your active duty ID. The license you receive will have a “Limited Other” restriction on it, and it will have the phrase “Expiration waived when accompanied by active duty military ID card”.
Those who are unable to go into the office, or those who do not want to have this restriction will need to send in their license renewal through the mail. You will also need to include a forwarding address so they can send your license to your out of state address. Keep in mind that in Wyoming, dependents are not eligible for extension. They are required to renew by mail.
The address for renewing by mail is as follows:
5300 Bishop Blvd
Cheyenne, WY 82009
It is not possible to receive an extension for your vehicle registration in the state. You have to make sure that you register your vehicle, even if you are not in the state at the time it is due. Again, you will need to pay by mail or online.
Non-resident military personnel driver license and vehicle registration
Non-resident military members who are stationed in Wyoming do not have to register their vehicles in the state, as long as they have current registration in their home state as well as insurance. However, if you do decide to register your vehicle in the state, you will qualify for a tax exemption. You will have to register your vehicle, submit your LES, and fill out the Application and Affidavit of Non-residence and Military Service Exemption from Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax. This form also needs to be signed by a commissioned officer.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING