Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Michigan

The state of Michigan offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the past, or are current active military members.

Disabled veteran registration fee waiver

Disabled veterans are eligible for a Disabled Veteran license plate in either the standard design, or Spectacular Peninsulas. You must be able to provide discharge papers proving honorable discharge, and verification from the Department of Veterans Affairs that you have a 100% disability that is the result of military service (alternately your Rating Decision may be less than 100% disability but with a 100% unemployable rating). You must complete and submit the Application for Veteran License Plate.

There is a $5 service charge for the standard plate, and a $10 charge for the Spectacular Peninsulas design. It’s important to note that the Disabled Veteran plate is not an automatic qualifier for parking privileges. You must submit a separate application in order to request the disabled parking designation.

Driver’s license veteran designation

Michigan veterans are eligible for a veteran designation on a driver license or state ID card, in the form of the word “Veteran” at the lower right of the card. This allows you to easily display your veteran status to businesses and other organizations that offer benefits to military members, without having to carry your discharge papers around everywhere you go. In order to get a license with this designation you must have received honorable (or general under honorable conditions, or conditions other than dishonorable) discharge, and provide proof in the form of one of the following:

  • DD214 (or correction DD215), Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty, any copy except Copy 1

  • Form NGB FM 22 or 23, Report of Separation and Record of Service, which must indicate honorable or general discharge

  • Forms WD AGO, such as WD AGO 53-55, Enlisted Record and Report of Separation Honorable Discharge

  • GSA 6954, Certificate of Military Service

  • NAVPERS 553, Extract of Notice of Separation from U.S. Naval Service

  • VA Veteran Health Identification Card

  • DD-2 (blue or pink version), United States Uniformed Services ID card - issued to retired military and military reserve veterans

You must also submit the Application for Veteran Designation. There is no additional fee for adding veteran designation to your driver license or ID card, unless you add it prior to your renewal date.

Military honor plates

Michigan offers a variety of military and veteran license plates designed to honor those who’ve served in a specific branch, conflict, or are recipients of a medal or award. These plates require a $5 service fee for the standard background and $10 for the Spectacular Peninsulas background.

You can view the available designs and documentation requirements here and print out the Application for Veteran License Plate here.

Military skills test waiver

In 2011, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration created a provision within the Commercial Learner’s Permit rule, granting SDLAs (State Driver Licensing Agencies) the power to waive the CDL skills test for U.S. Military drivers with service-related truck driving experience. In order to take advantage of this opportunity you have to have a minimum of two years driving trucks in the course of your military service. In addition, this driving experience has to have taken place within the year before you apply for the waiver. It’s important to note that you will not be exempted from the written test.

Military personnel and veterans who wish to apply for this benefit can download and print the waiver here.

Military Commercial Driver’s License Act of 2012

The MCDLA expands military personnel’s ability to obtain a CDL. Even if Michigan is not your home state, but you are stationed there temporarily or permanently, you may apply for a CDL license, provided you follow all proper channels of qualification.

Driver license renewal while deployed

Military members stationed out of state have 30 days upon return to renew their Michigan driver license. The license may be renewed for up to four years after expiration, however this privilege does not extend to your dependents – they need to renew by their due date.

If you do need to renew while overseas or out of state, you may be able to do so online. Enhanced licenses (those which contain a special designation allowing you to travel to Canada without a passport) cannot be renewed online.

Late fees for vehicle registration renewal are waived for active duty military personnel stationed out of state. You may, however, be able to renew online.

Non-resident military personnel driver license and vehicle registration

Michigan honors out-of-state driver’s licenses. You may need to contact the Michigan SOS to find out whether your dependents need a license in the state, and whether you need to register your vehicle after a period of time stationed there.

Active or veteran military personnel can find out more at the state’s Registry of Motor Vehicles website here.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in South Carolina
The The state of South Carolina offers a variety of benefits for current military service members, their families, and for veterans. These range from extended license renewal durations to special license plates to honor military service. License and registration tax...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Texas
The The Lone Star State offers veterans and current military service people a number of benefits and perks, but there are also a number of important laws and regulations that must be followed when obtaining a license. Let’s consider some...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in West Virginia
The The state of West Virginia has certain laws and requirements, as well as benefits for drivers in the state who are active duty as well as veterans. The laws and benefits cover a number of areas including veteran license...

Related questions

I accidentally drained the transmission fluid on my car
It's not at all likely that you damaged the transmission as long as it wasn't started. Technically, you can put the CVT fluid back in, but it needs to be done from the same hole it was drained from. This...
How many and what size jack stand
Hi there. This would depend on what type of jack stands are on the rear of the trailer. If you have two jack stands of 18k pound rating on the rear, then you can put two 18k pound rating jack...
Why did my 'E' brake and battery light came on at same time?
The battery light will come on when the event that the battery is no longer being charged. The 'E' brake (parking brake) light comes on when the fluid is low in the master cylinder or there is a pressure difference...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com