South Carolina Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of South Carolina.

Speed limits in South Carolina

70 mph: rural interstates

60 mph: urban interstates

60 mph: four-lane arterials

55 mph: four-lane bypasses (except Marion and Sumter), and most two-lane roads

40 mph: unpaved roads

35 mph: maximum speed in urban areas

30 mph: central business districts (some posted at 25 mph)

30 mph: maximum speed in residential areas

South Carolina code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 56-5-1520 of SC vehicle code, “No person shall drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing.”

Minimum speed law:

Sections 56-5-1560(a) and 56-5-1810(b) states:

“No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in South Carolina due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could have made a mistake and pulled the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in South Carolina

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $445

  • Be sentenced to up to 30 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to three to six months

Penalty for reckless driving in South Carolina

Exceeding the speed limit by 25 mph is automatically considered reckless driving in this state.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $445

  • Be sentenced to up to 30 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to three to six months

Violators may be required to attend defensive driving courses and may be able to reduce the points applied to their driving record by doing so.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Wyoming Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Wyoming. Speed limits in Wyoming 80 mph: interstates 70 mph: four-lane divided highways 70 mph: other paved highways...
How to Get a South Carolina Driver's Permit
South South Carolina is a state that relies on a graduated driver’s license program to keep young drivers safe. This program requires all new drivers to begin driving with a learner’s permit, in order to practice safe driving under supervision...
What are the Car Pool Rules in South Carolina?
Car Car pool lanes have been around for a few decades now, and they’ve never been more popular. There are more than 3,000 miles of car pool lanes across the United States, spanning many of the country’s 50 states. Every...

Related questions

How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime
Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...
Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why
Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...
Pitted surface around exhaust ports on head.
The cylinder head gasket mating surface must be machined flat to ensure a proper seal and the exhaust manifold mounting surface may be machined if there is an exhaust leak there from the cylinder head warping. A few small pits...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com