$123.64 - $445.92
The state of Idaho requires that all drivers carry certain types of automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility,” in order to operate a vehicle legally. This is required whether the vehicle is registered or not.
The minimum liability insurance required for vehicle owners under Idaho law is as follows:
$15,000 for Property Damage Liability, which covers damage caused to another’s property by your vehicle (such as buildings or road signs).
$25,000 for Bodily Injury insurance per person; this means that the total minimum a driver must carry for Bodily Injury insurance is $50,000, to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
This means that every driver must carry a total of $40,000 in liability insurance for each vehicle they drive in Idaho.
While the state does require that all insurance providers include Uninsured Motorist or Under-Insured Motorist insurance, which covers the costs of an accident involving a driver who did not carry the proper amount of legally required insurance, in any policy, there is no required minimum amount of coverage.
Other types of insurance
The liability insurance listed above is all that is required by the Idaho Department of Insurance; however, the Department does recognize other types of insurance for additional coverage. These include:
Medical Payments coverage, which covers the costs of medical or funeral expenses that were the result of an auto accident.
Comprehensive insurance, which pays for damage to your vehicle that was not the result of an accident (such as weather-related damage).
Collision Insurance, which covers the cost of damage to your vehicle that is the direct result of an automotive accident.
Other types may include Rental Reimbursement, Towing and Labor Reimbursement, and Custom Equipment Insurance (which covers the additional cost of replacing custom upgrades on a vehicle).
Idaho law states that multiple people can be found at fault for an automotive accident. This type of law is called comparative negligence, and means that your insurance will only pay out for damages if you are at less fault than the other parties.
Your payout can also be reduced by your percentage of fault. If you are found to be 20% at fault for the accident, your insurance can reduce the amount they will pay out by 20%.
Driving without the proper insurance in Idaho, or failing to produce proof of insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer, can result in fines and jail sentences, including:
A $75 fine for the first offense
Up to $1,000 in fines for subsequent offenses
A jail sentence of up to six months
A requirement to carry an SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility document, which is a specific verification document usually are only required for those who have been convicted of DUIs and reckless driving charges.
For more information, contact the Idaho Department of Transportation on their website.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING