Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Michigan

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Michigan

car title Michigan

There are plenty of important documents we are responsible for keeping safe, your car title is one of them. This piece of paper proves that you are the registered owner of your vehicle, which is vital if you plan on selling it, transferring ownership, or registering your vehicle in another state. Even with your best intentions, life happens and you can end up losing this car title, damaging it, or even having it stolen. If any of these has happened then you will be able to apply for a duplicate title to be sent to you.

In the state of Michigan the process is relatively simple. Here are the steps involved.

  • Find your nearest Secretary of State (SOS) branch office so you can go in person and obtain the Application for Michigan Vehicle Title (Form TR-11L).

  • Be sure to have ID on you when you visit the SOS branch, your state ID card or driver's license are acceptable forms of ID.

  • Be sure to have the fee with you, which is $15 for a duplicate title.

  • As far as the timeline goes, it usually takes about 10 days to be sent to you after the form is processed.

  • Sometimes you can be in a situation where you need the title fast. If that's the case there are some SOS branches that offer "instant titling services". These ones provide same day titles. Just be sure to call in advance to ensure you qualify for this process.

  • Keep in mind all of the owners must sign the form and be there in person with proper identification. An Appointment of Agent form can be used if the owners aren't all able to be there.

You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Michigan by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance...


Related questions

Q: Where do I find my vehicle identification number (VIN)?

Your vehicle identification number (VIN) is unique to your vehicle, and is used as a legal identifier of your car. The VIN is located on the drive side of the windshield, where the windshield meets the dash. It is easily...

Q: How do you remove the CV axle on driver side?

Hi there. On a 2004 Chevy Blazer, you can remove the CV axle shaft on the driver side by removing the wheel and tire, the brake calipers, brake pads, rotor, center hub nut, wheel bearings and loosen the ball joints...

Q: Selling Car without Title

I don't believe you can sell the car without the title. You may be able to get assistance from a special power of attorney for the buyer in order to sign the title for you once they receive it. If...