Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Hawaii

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Hawaii

Car Title Hawaii

Once your car is paid off, the lender should mail you the physical title to the vehicle. This is proof that you own the car outright. However, many of us don’t take the proper care of that essential document. It ends up in a file cabinet somewhere, where it collects dust. It’s all too easy for a title to be damaged – a flood, a fire, or even just significant amounts of smoke can render your title useless. It can also be easily lost or even stolen.

In this situation, you need to get a duplicate title for your car. Without a legal title, you can’t sell your car, register it, or trade it in. The good news is that getting a duplicate title from Hawaii isn’t that difficult.

First, understand that each county has slightly different requirements, so you’ll need to follow those that pertain to your county of residence. However, all of them require that you provide some basic information. You’ll need the license plate number of the car, as well as the VIN. You’ll also need the owner’s name and address, and the make of the car. Finally, you need the reason for issuing a duplicate title – lost, stolen, damaged, etc.).

Honolulu

  • Complete Form CS-L MVR 10 (Application for Duplicate Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title).
  • Mail it to the address listed on the form with your $5 fee, or turn it in by hand at a nearby DMV office.

Maui

  • Complete Form DMVL580 (Application for Duplicate Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title).
  • Have it notarized.
  • Take it to your local DMV office and complete additional paperwork.
  • Pay $10 fee.

Kauai

  • All forms are available from your local DMV office only.

Hawaii County

Note for all Hawaii locations – if your old title is found again, it must be turned in to the DMV for destruction. It is void after a new title has been issued.

For more information, see the DMV.org website that provides the information for all the counties of Hawaii.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...

Related questions

Q: Recommendation on choosing an SUV to buy--Honda CR-V or RAV 4

Yes, but a Rav 4 without a doubt would outlast it by far. I'd buy the Rav 4. They are going to last longer. Hondas used to be really solidly built, but they've gone downhill in the last decade, decade-and-a-half....

Q: Q: Where do I find my vehicle identification number (VIN)?

Your vehicle identification number (VIN) is unique to your vehicle, and is used as a legal identifier of your car. The VIN is located on the drive side of the windshield, where the windshield meets the dash. It is easily...

Q: I have a crack on my windshield

Every state will vary as well as the person performing the inspection. However, in most states, a crack larger than 4 inches will not pass this kind of safety inspection. There are also different types of cracks that have different...