$124.62 - $450.29
Illinois has some pretty strict laws when it comes to cell phones, texting, and driving. Drivers of all ages are banned from texting while driving as well as from the use of handheld devices, but those who are over the age of 19 may use a hands free device to make phones calls while driving. The State of Illinois cautions motorists to still use safety when using their hands free devices because distracted driving is a hazard.
Cell phones are also not allowed to be used while you are driving in a school zone or a construction zone. Texting while driving is not allowed no matter what age you are. There are some exceptions to the texting law.
- No texting while driving for people of any age
- No handheld or hands free devices for those under the age of 19
- Drivers over the age of 19 may only use hands free device to make phone calls
Exceptions to texting laws
- Reporting an emergency situation
- Communicating with emergency personnel
- Using a hands free device
- Driver is parked on the shoulder
- Vehicle is stopped due to a traffic obstruction and the vehicle is in park
A police officer can pull you over just for seeing you texting while driving or for violating any of the other laws above. If you do get pulled over, you will most likely receive a ticket with a fine.
- Breaking the cell phone law above starts at $75
The Illinois State Police recommend that you pull over to a safe area on the side of the road to make a phone call, send a text, or read an email. In addition, they also caution against distracted driving and suggest that you adjust the vehicle before you take off and pull over if you need to eat or care for children.
The State of Illinois has some pretty strict laws when it comes to using your cell phone while driving. Only use a hands free device if you must make a phone call. Even then, it is best to do that from the side of the road. Drivers who are under the age of 19 are prohibited from making any kind of phone calls. Furthermore, texting and driving is illegal for drivers of all ages. For your safety and the safety of others, put down your cell phone while you are in the vehicle.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING